How do I create a list that is NOT a pull down?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:45 pm

jojoe wrote:Sorry again, the Function Plugin :p

My English.... I just cant!


I thought you meant the function plugin, but I don't understand why it's not possible to use "complex expressions" in it..
I do it all the time..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:59 pm

LittleStain wrote:
jojoe wrote:Sorry again, the Function Plugin :p

My English.... I just cant!


I thought you meant the function plugin, but I don't understand why it's not possible to use "complex expressions" in it..
I do it all the time..


Make a "How do I : Make a function with complex expressions", and I will make you an example when I get home from work. I will also show you how to use an array with a dictionary so you wont have to cast , and use tokens like you where suggesting to this new user.

Maybe Ashley or someone else can answer before i am done with my work.

Really surprises me how many people on the forums do not know about array. They are the backbone to programming. Most people learn about them the same time they learn about Str, Int, and Float.

@Magistross you should learn about Arrays too, they would really help your plugins I bet.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:05 pm

jojoe wrote:@Magistross you should learn about Arrays too, they would really help your plugins I bet.
Trust me, I already know quite a lot about arrays, I'm a computer programmer too. ;)

Thing is, I thought Just4fun was talking about the UI and a way to visually represent a list.
B
71
S
30
G
25
Posts: 984
Reputation: 19,503

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:09 pm

jojoe wrote:
LittleStain wrote:
jojoe wrote:Sorry again, the Function Plugin :p

My English.... I just cant!


I thought you meant the function plugin, but I don't understand why it's not possible to use "complex expressions" in it..
I do it all the time..


Make a "How do I : Make a function with complex expressions", and I will make you an example when I get home from work. I will also show you how to use an array with a dictionary so you wont have to cast , and use tokens like you where suggesting to this new user.

Maybe Ashley or someone else can answer before i am done with my work.

Really surprises me how many people on the forums do not know about array. They are the backbone to programming. Most people learn about them the same time they learn about Str, Int, and Float.


Don't worry, I know how to use arrays..
I also know how to put them inside a container, so you can use them like instance variables..
For something as simple as a list I prefer using the dictionary object with the possibility of adding to the string by append and creating a visual list with a simple function using tokencount and tokenat..
I guess that's just personal preference..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:23 pm

LittleStain wrote:I guess that's just personal preference..



You might try arrays, they sort much faster iirc.

@Magistross Ah yes! I understand.

At I thought he meant there is no Bullet list like HTML at first because he was using the <li> thing. Then I though he meant how to make something with the same functionality.

I really love your Tile AI plugin. When I first installed it yesterday, it made me want to quit my current project and start one using this great new add-on to C2! I immediately thought i gotta make an "Ultima III" clone!

Have a nice day everyone I have work to do.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:46 pm

This is what I had in mind for creating a simple list:

List-Add-Dictionary-Function
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:34 am

Great example! @LittleStain

The Dictionary is sure a nice tool. For functions like this I would have to use REGEX in Unity. Ashley made some nice things for us. He has saved us from making a lot of common mistakes like typos.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:10 am

jojoe wrote:Great example! @LittleStain

The Dictionary is sure a nice tool. For functions like this I would have to use REGEX in Unity. Ashley made some nice things for us. He has saved us from making a lot of common mistakes like typos.


Using a loop instead of repeat would have actually been a lot easier, haha..
Would have saved me two local variables..

(BTW: If you'd rather use REGEX, you can, ofcourse.. :) )
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:18 am

Hi, I designed a Listview module as my 2nd product on Scirra Store~~
https://www.scirra.com/store/royalty-fr ... odule-1908
Providence University, lecturer.

Tatung University, lecturer.



Consultant per question: USD$15 / time

Consultant by month: USD$300 / month

Customized project: USD$2500 / capx
B
78
S
17
G
4
Posts: 197
Reputation: 7,738

Post » Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:46 pm

Hi~ I made a listview module and put it on Scirra Store. Please take at look at this:

https://www.scirra.com/store/royalty-fr ... odule-1908
Providence University, lecturer.

Tatung University, lecturer.



Consultant per question: USD$15 / time

Consultant by month: USD$300 / month

Customized project: USD$2500 / capx
B
78
S
17
G
4
Posts: 197
Reputation: 7,738

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Blendi1223, dop2000, kellehk, Yahoo [Bot] and 28 guests