How do I create a room for my player to enter?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:23 am

The current game I'm working on has a system of rooms for the character to enter and search for an object. I want him to walk up to the door, and once he's in front, press a button to enter. How can I do this?
--

So Say We All
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,330

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:34 am

On pressed button
Character is overlapping door
Open door.
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 255
Reputation: 2,027

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:52 am

Do I need to create a sub-event for this? And I'm not finding an "open door" command, unless you mean "move to layout".
--

So Say We All
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,330

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:56 am

Put On pressed Button and overlapping door in one "And" Event.
No, there is no open door command :) I don't know what happens when you open the door, so I was just "creative" :P
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 255
Reputation: 2,027

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:01 am

Ah, I got it :D. Thanks! So I figured out how to switch to a different layout when I overlap and press the button. Now comes an even more noob question....how do I get my sprite to spawn when the new layout starts up?
--

So Say We All
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,330

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:03 am

@swordofsolace

Sub-event means that if the previous event is true, so the next events that is "inside" of another event will run.

Doens't exist an "open door" command. What Rabenmutter meant is that you need to create an sprite and load an image of a door.

Then you an event like this:

if character is overlapping the sprite "door"
than go to layout "room"

So you need to create another layout with your map "room" before doing this

Edit: forget it haha

"on start of layout" -> spawn the object.

There is spawn to another object and to a positon where you need to input the coordinates
Last edited by kossglobal on Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
56
S
21
G
3
Posts: 602
Reputation: 6,612

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:05 am

Make a new event sheet for the new layout.
On start of layout
spawn charactersprite
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 255
Reputation: 2,027

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:10 am

So that would be "Spawn another object" right?
--

So Say We All
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,330

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:10 am

And I appreciate it Koss :D
--

So Say We All
B
13
S
4
G
1
Posts: 37
Reputation: 1,330

Post » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:12 am

System-> Create Object
B
14
S
3
G
1
Posts: 255
Reputation: 2,027

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ditocruz, RalleRoyal and 37 guests