How do I create a stat counter for a tycoon game

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:46 pm

Hey guys,

I'm currently building a tycoon based game. I'm currently having issues finding help on how to create a stat counter for my game. I would like to create a menu where my players can look at different stats like, "how much income they've made" "How many jobs have been completed" etc. I was hoping to find maybe a plug in or even a tutorial. If anybody could point me in the right direction it would be appreciated. Thank you.
B
4
Posts: 5
Reputation: 212

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:54 pm

How far have you come by yourself?

For the stats I would either use variables or use an array to store them in..
on job completed add 1 to JobsCompleted
on money earned add money to MoneyMade

then you can set a textobject to : "Money made: $"&MoneyMade

or if you use an array to: "Money made: "Money made: $"&Array.at(x,y) (where x,y is the position in the array you have put the amount of money made)
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:13 pm

Thanks, that is exactly what we needed. We're still in the beginning stages, we have most of the images completed, we just started the programming side of things. Now, we want all of their stats to be saved everytime they log in/out of a game. Should we use the web storage function, or set up our own server? Again, thanks for the help.
B
4
Posts: 5
Reputation: 212

Post » Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:26 pm

You could use either webstorage or savegame or use Ajax and send it to an MySQL-database..

Depends on your needs and expectations really..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sat Aug 16, 2014 12:59 am

Thank you for your fast reply! I guess we will eventually use Ajax. This program is absolutely amazing and we can't wait to buy it! Thanks again for your help.
B
4
Posts: 5
Reputation: 212


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cubus32, tarek2 and 7 guests