How do I create instructions for my game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:26 am

Hello Folks,

Pretty new here and I would like some guidance. I want to create a help for users to show what they have to do. Is there any tutorial for that? I want something like below

http://gifmaker.cc/PlayGIFAnimation.php?folder=2017022516kB0b48uc44VRVSbQI68Qps&file=output_9AYOto.gif
B
18
S
8
G
5
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,908

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:04 pm

I would do this by adding a 'Help' layer, and placing a sprite on that layer with an animation frame for each stage of the tutorial, with its animation speed set to 0. Make this layer invisible on start. When the user presses the 'Help' button, switch the help layer to visible and re-start the sprite's animation. When the user taps, forward the animation by one frame. If the user taps an 'Exit Help' button, disable the layer.
The LEVEL GENERATOR TOOLKIT



24 functions dedicated to producing randomly generated terrain for all kinds of games.
B
25
S
7
Posts: 242
Reputation: 2,306

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:28 pm

I can't see your image?

There are many ways to add help to a game.

If the game is complicated I usually include a help screen and a button to that in the start up menu that takes the user to a new layout with help explained.

You can do it using layers all in the same layout but I hate having to open and close and hide layers and it makes it easier to edit the help screen if it is in a new layout.

If your game needs many help screens then using layers might work better.
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,790

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:59 pm

All you do is create layout, name it instructions. In default start up set first layout instructions
B
250
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,953
Reputation: 40,623

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:53 pm

Thank you everyone for your reply. I am unsure how to upload images to this site.
B
18
S
8
G
5
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,908

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 8:42 pm

fearfulelephants wrote:Thank you everyone for your reply. I am unsure how to upload images to this site.


You would need a direct link to the image when using the [img] BBCode.

Your host uses a separate url that links to the image so it doesn't show.

I've changed it to a URL so at least users can now click the link to see the animated gif.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,388
Reputation: 58,458

Post » Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:01 pm

zenox98 wrote:
fearfulelephants wrote:Thank you everyone for your reply. I am unsure how to upload images to this site.


You would need a direct link to the image when using the [img] BBCode.

Your host uses a separate url that links to the image so it doesn't show.

I've changed it to a URL so at least users can now click the link to see the animated gif.

Thank you
B
18
S
8
G
5
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,908

Post » Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:32 am

fearfulelephants wrote:
zenox98 wrote:
fearfulelephants wrote:Thank you everyone for your reply. I am unsure how to upload images to this site.


You would need a direct link to the image when using the [img] BBCode.

Your host uses a separate url that links to the image so it doesn't show.

I've changed it to a URL so at least users can now click the link to see the animated gif.

Thank you



Just for future reference I use postimage for images I use in the forum and it accepts any picture or gif.

https://postimage.io/
Banned User
B
27
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,790


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 29 guests