How do I create my own signalling server?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:37 pm

we are already testing a multiplayer game but we are using the scirra's public signalling server,
we want to use our own server, where can i rent one?
Image

Image
B
38
S
14
G
7
Posts: 408
Reputation: 8,338

Post » Sun Mar 23, 2014 5:59 pm

I am sure I've read that Scirra are not planning on supporting this during the beta but intend to when it get to the stable release...
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,882

Post » Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:58 pm

Very hard to beat scirra's signalling server. It is a beast.
But as RamPackWobble says, not being supported during beta.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Post » Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:54 pm

Ohh thats a shame, I went and purchased a VPS and added nodejs socket.io and express for the sole purpose of multiplayer gaming. Any idea how long we have to wait until we can begin using our own servers?
www.h1k3.tech

We are here for you!
B
87
S
22
G
16
Posts: 715
Reputation: 16,785

Post » Tue Mar 25, 2014 8:14 pm

You can already host actual games on your own servers by running Chrome and hosting a game in a tab. That's probably also more important than hosting your own signalling server, since the Scirra signalling server is running on a pretty decent rig with a gigabit connection.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,441
Reputation: 194,671


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: adelwich, androidpro, Instrex and 29 guests