How do I create randomly generate dungeons

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 12:24 am

I'm looking for a simple [SIMPLE] way of creating random dugeons
B
14
S
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 972

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 12:32 am

Well the easiest way I found was making an Array, but the hard part is learning how to use an Array :/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kQ27MZ-6nA
B
16
S
6
G
2
Posts: 164
Reputation: 3,207

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 12:40 am

I know that :P just wondering if there a super easy way
B
14
S
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 972

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:16 pm

The in Construct2 way which would be easy in the sense you wouldn't need an array would be to--
Use groups--
Have global variables. Random1=0 R2=0 R3=0 (more if you need them)


In those groups--
Map out set of square sprites equally to a tile set or map.
S1, S2, S3, etc.


Then Load a tile map as a sprite sheet.
Pick Spawn Object--

When the player does something, this will add to the Global Variables. The Global Variables will effect the Spawn Sprites (s1,s2, etc). This should create random dungeons.
Also note-- you can set the collisions on the tile map sprite set.

In your event sheet. Set the conditions for each spawn point--
Examples

If R1<2 R2=4 R3>12, then load SpriteBackground to S3 at animation 43
If R1=10 R2=50 R3>40, then load SpriteBackground to S3 at animation 23


You can find a free tile set here, but give credit to whose you use--
http://opengameart.org/

This will also take hours to a day depending on how many tiles and how larger you map will be. The bigger the map, the more time.
I know because since I'm learning arrays, I've developed this method as an alternative for a game jam. I've gotten better at groups, but after this jam going to study arrays more.

I have only three Spawn Sprites and three Graphics. I would suggest making larger interchangeable set pieces and less of a Zelda with this method.



Cheers
B
16
S
6
G
2
Posts: 164
Reputation: 3,207

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:10 pm

I just did video on random terrain generator, Im sure you could use something like this to achieve your goal. http://makegamesacc.blogspot.com
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 8:39 pm

tonW lol I randomly found your video before you posted it :P
B
14
S
3
Posts: 27
Reputation: 972

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:34 am

BurningWood wrote:Well the easiest way I found was making an Array, but the hard part is learning how to use an Array :/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kQ27MZ-6nA



Hi BurningWood, thanks for sharing the video. Maybe you know how that guy, created the hydrostatic pressure example... Or even the wave effect (in the end of the clip)?
ImageImageImage
B
44
S
17
G
3
Posts: 157
Reputation: 5,150

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 1:39 am

@declan007

GREAT!! seo at its finest! lol
Image
B
26
S
4
G
3
Posts: 147
Reputation: 4,875

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:49 am

@TonyW I gave the vid a like and a comment. Thanks, I'll take a look at it later.

@Nagval333 I'm only on text based arrays at the moment. The video helped me realize what I can do with them eventually hopefully. I didn't ask him for a tut, but if you leave a comment or respond on his twitter he may reply. I got a response from him with a week, but I didn't ask any array questions.
B
16
S
6
G
2
Posts: 164
Reputation: 3,207

Post » Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:50 am

@TonyW I gave the vid a like and a comment. Thanks, I'll take a look at it later.

@Nagval333 I'm only on text based arrays at the moment. The video helped me realize what I can do with them eventually hopefully. I didn't ask him for a tut, but if you leave a comment or respond on his twitter he may reply. I got a response from him with a week, but I didn't ask any array questions.
B
16
S
6
G
2
Posts: 164
Reputation: 3,207

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bootfit, grigrizljac, korbaach and 21 guests