How do I create unique players in multiplayer?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:34 am

Hey,

I've made a function to create a new player, which works, but! On window 1, I see 2 cars, on window 2, I see 1 car. On window 1, I control both cars rather than my own. I know I need to set an id of sorts and create an event of something like [if myID = carID then control your car], but I can't figure out the actual logic, and how can I see the first car on Window 2?





Thanks!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 463

Post » Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:24 pm

Are you talking about the multiplayer plugin? Follow the official tutorials, they cover everything you asked.

For local multiplayer you need two set of controls. They should be under parent events with conditions that pick the correct car to control, such as an instance variable like you mentioned.

As for your display windows, there is no way to help you based on your vague description without seeing what you have done in the first place. Post an example.
Mistakes were made.
B
49
S
24
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,303

Post » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:34 pm

I read somebody's post about the Multiplayer plugin was buggy and to use the Photon one. I think the Photon one would be a better match anyhow as I want an 'always on' solution. The 2 tutorials for it are confusing as they both do it differently.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 463

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:19 pm

Hey man, try this,

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=028 ... 5309673895

You'll have to put your own photon app id in before it will work :)
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1,379

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:57 pm

Message: RetroSpock can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
higher2003 wrote:Hey man, try this,

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=028 ... 5309673895

You'll have to put your own photon app id in before it will work :)


Thanks dude I shall take a look now!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 463

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:02 pm

Message: RetroSpock can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
higher2003 wrote:Hey man, try this,

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=028 ... 5309673895

You'll have to put your own photon app id in before it will work :)


This looks great, did you make it?
B
7
S
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 463

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:59 pm

Yeah man, just made it for you then ;)
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1,379

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:02 pm

In case you wanted the images.

http://kenney.nl/assets/racing-pack
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1,379

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:54 pm

Message: RetroSpock can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Thanks man, it's essentially what I wanted, but when I tried to trace your steps and rebuild it from scratch to understand it, and for some reason when a second player joins, it can't see player 1. Could you take a look, please? :)

Capx: https:// www.dropbox.com/s/mutz3k7be7ixmiv/Track.capx?dl=0
B
7
S
1
Posts: 41
Reputation: 463

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:12 pm

ah yeah you need to add it to cache

[photon: on join room] raise event 1 with car_select

click that and under cache
yours is set to donotcache it needs to be addtoroomcache
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1,379

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests