How Do I Debug?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:55 pm

Hi Friends,

I searched for this in the forums but I couldnt find anything useful. Can someone please tell me How Can I debug my eventsheet?

Thank you

Best
B
11
S
3
Posts: 44
Reputation: 823

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:07 pm

Debug... an EVENT SHEET? Either something is wrong with my head today, or you aren't quite understanding what debugging is.
Did you, perhaps, wanted a showing of which events are being done as you play your game? Or a feature that searches for bugs?
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:34 pm

There is a debugger in the latest builds. You need the latest beta (r139 doesn't have it), then just hit the debug button next to the preview button.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,625

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:26 pm

@fassFlash -> Since I develop softwares for more than 10 years in any language, I bet I know what I ment better than you!
Debugging the event sheet means I want to set BREAK POINTS AT CERTAIN EVENTS ! Which are in EVENT SHEET.

I want to walk thgough those events step by step if it is possible.

@Ashley Thank you for your reply. I think I have the latest release. I will look for that button or will update to the new version.
Best
B
11
S
3
Posts: 44
Reputation: 823

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:54 pm

Debugging particular events is not yet implemented if I'm not mistaken, but is indeed in the (evergrowing) todo list !
B
71
S
30
G
25
Posts: 984
Reputation: 19,503

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:04 am

"Debug... an EVENT SHEET? Either something is wrong with my head today"
-Sheogorath
Oh god, I knew it.
...
...


I still don't get it.
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:06 am

The cat with the lemon helmet is quite the little brat.

Anyone with at least basic construct2 understanding would figure it out.
Debugging is quite an art.

Before debug mode came out, we ignorant savages would just set Text objects to check for stuff...

@fassFlash welcome to the internet.
B
43
S
12
G
6
Posts: 446
Reputation: 6,802

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:33 am

k thanks
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:08 am

@Sargas ?
B
11
S
3
Posts: 44
Reputation: 823

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:17 am

@cantek
That would be a very useful feature to have. Right now I end up analyzing by visually walking over my events and imagining the results of each one. Its not ideal and I often have to do some tests in a separate capx to see what a particular condition or actions does before I can analyze it in my events. It would be much easier to see what's going on if the debugger allowed you to step through events and see what's picked at each step. It would be and invaluable tool IMO especially for beginners as it would show you exactly what's happening.

It's the main feature that's lacking from the debugger that would make it like a debugger for standard programming languages.
B
92
S
32
G
109
Posts: 5,294
Reputation: 70,999

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests