How do I delay bullets firing speed

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:34 am

Hi ,

      I have just downloaded the program and the demo today. Me being too lazy to click and fire the bullets , I change the mouse to left mouse button down. Once I do that there is a one unbroken line of bullets firing. How can I have space between each? Or how can I vary the bullet speed? Thanks
B
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 237

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:54 am

system condition, every # seconds

you can set it to a variable 'fire rate' for example.
B
28
S
8
G
1
Posts: 469
Reputation: 4,683

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 1:58 am

Hey Wicked,

Yeah the "button down" will continuously fire. What you want to do is add a system command --> Wait X seconds after firing bullet.

So it looks like :

On mouse down ->Fire bullet
              ->Wait 1 second

That way you will have a 1 second gap in between bullets. Speed of bullets is changed in the properties panel on the left when the bullet is selected.

(Damn ninja'd!) :)GenkiGenga2012-03-08 01:58:59
ImageImage
B
73
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,473

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:00 am

Maybe checking tuto's is a good idea too.

Anyway, as keepee told, on the event of On Left Mouse Click, add another event: Every X seconds.
English is not my native language. Sorry for any mistakes and feel free to correct me if needed.
B
14
S
5
G
3
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,225

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:35 am

I have changed the settings as advised. It still firing bullets non-stop. I have posted the screenshot below. Pls kindly check if it is correct? Thanks.

@Cassianno , you are right , I should have. Just that I am too excited to RTFM. :P

http://www.tiikoni.com/tis/view/?id=9fd97f6
B
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 237

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 3:56 am

It should be taking 100 seconds to fire again if your holding the button down.

Get yourself a dropbox account, its free - and then you can post your cap.x (game project file) and we can take a look at it directly. Its the best way to get help.
ImageImage
B
73
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,473

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 4:10 am

Try colldown behavior or timer behavior.
B
97
S
22
G
177
Posts: 4,113
Reputation: 103,531

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:14 am

Here is the dropbox file. Thanks guys!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49876321/ghostshooter-tutorial.capx
B
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 237

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:26 am

Here you go, Im sorry my original suggestion didnt work - it seems you have to add it into the condition instead of adding it as an action.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13312935/hereyouare.capx
ImageImage
B
73
S
16
G
6
Posts: 1,038
Reputation: 10,473

Post » Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:30 am

Hey no prob. Now I know what is a condition and action. LOL. Thanks Genki and the rest :P Yup now the bullets come out one at a time.

Thanks again!
B
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 237

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, jul, nicklowkcmagic and 19 guests