How do I delta-time limit framerate for entire game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:35 pm

Not with a shader. The closest you could do right now is using LittleStain's suggestion and paste everything to that every X seconds.
B
91
S
31
G
102
Posts: 5,232
Reputation: 67,250

Post » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:42 pm

R0J0hound wrote:Not with a shader. The closest you could do right now is using LittleStain's suggestion and paste everything to that every X seconds.


I see you made both the paster and canvas objects, nice! Which would you recommend would be best to try this with? Will be interesting to see how performance is with this.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:45 am

Paster will be faster with webgl on, but you'll have to paste objects indavidually. With webgl off canvas and paster will perform the same, but canvas lets you paste an entire layer at a time.
B
91
S
31
G
102
Posts: 5,232
Reputation: 67,250

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:32 am

There is a system action :
Set minimum framerate
Set the maximum delta-time (dt) value based on a framerate. The default minimum framerate is 30 FPS, meaning the maximum dt is 1 / 30 (= 33ms). If the framerate drops below 30 FPS, dt will still not exceed 1/30. This has the effect of the game going in to slow motion as it drops below the minimum framerate, rather than objects stepping further every frame to keep up the same real-world speed. This helps avoid skipped collisions due to stepping a very large distance every frame.


You could try and mess with, although it likely won't get you the effect you are looking for.
At worst, it can help you understand how the engine is coded on that level.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,317
Reputation: 87,483

Post » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:45 pm

Kyatric wrote:There is a system action :
Set minimum framerate
Set the maximum delta-time (dt) value based on a framerate. The default minimum framerate is 30 FPS, meaning the maximum dt is 1 / 30 (= 33ms). If the framerate drops below 30 FPS, dt will still not exceed 1/30. This has the effect of the game going in to slow motion as it drops below the minimum framerate, rather than objects stepping further every frame to keep up the same real-world speed. This helps avoid skipped collisions due to stepping a very large distance every frame.


You could try and mess with, although it likely won't get you the effect you are looking for.
At worst, it can help you understand how the engine is coded on that level.


Exactly, the slow-motion effect is what I'm trying to avoid, I want the effect of a low filmed frame-rate played back at the frame-rate it was recorded at, speaking in movie terms.
B
41
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,117
Reputation: 11,253

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lancifer and 8 guests