How do I Direct url from my domain to server and run game

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jul 13, 2016 11:31 am

Hello,

May have missed something, but every time I try and run the html build on my server through ftp, all it does is open so I can see the html code.

What do I need to do, or what do I need to change in the html or manifest, so that it will run it instead of just opening to view the code...??

Please help?, am keen to see it work.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 2:24 pm

You need to change the HTTP Header "Content-Type" to "text/html".
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 2:49 pm

gumshoe2029 wrote:You need to change the HTTP Header "Content-Type" to "text/html".



Mate, where do I change the header? In the index.html or in the Construct 2 project? Can't work out where to put it in the index.html, am not use to html, am a c# coder. Could you please elaborate a little?
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:06 pm

Kastenessen wrote:Mate, where do I change the header? In the index.html or in the Construct 2 project? Can't work out where to put it in the index.html, am not use to html, am a c# coder. Could you please elaborate a little?


It is not in Construct. You specified that you are running your own server. Which server?
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:11 pm

Filezilla FTP server on my own pc.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Kastenessen wrote:Filezilla FTP server on my own pc.


That is not a web server, lol. You should look at using Apache or some other webserver.
WAMP stack: https://bitnami.com/stack/wamp/installer (You get PHP and MySQL, which you may not need too)
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:30 pm

There is a difference?? Lol, I am a noob when it comes to web stuff and ftp stuff. I can write c# code like no tomorrow, but when it comes to ftp and https and web stuff, I am, well, learning hehe. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction. Wow this web server stuff is a whole new thing for me lol. I've been too busy with my head in the code to see what's around these days, I spent 2 years learning c# and am only getting back in the game now. I want to make a webpage for my game development business lol. Always more to learn, which is why I love development.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:35 pm

Yea, file servers serve files. Not web pages. That is why your browser interprets it as a file, because the HTTP Header for Content Type probably says: "file/text" or something similar.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
I don't check the forums much anymore, but I will receive an email for PMs.

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
23
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,419
Reputation: 4,857

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:40 pm

Oh well. I'll get it soon lol. Maybe after all I wont need to buy Dreamweaver. I will be wrapped to see this work. I want to make a site and link it to my domain if i can. I am confused about all this url forwarding and etc. And dns's, but have only been at it for a week or two, I will get it soon I hope and then I can start making the actual site lol.

I made a webpage years ago with construct and couldn't get it to work then either lol. I should have asked someone.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Post » Fri Jul 15, 2016 3:46 pm

How do I give you rep or give you a correct answer or something? lol. Or you's don't do that here?

I can't see anywhere lol. So I guess ah, that's it lol.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 29
Reputation: 1,008

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: irina and 5 guests