How do I display large amount of data in a proper way

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:22 am

Hi everyone. Currently I am programming on a space economy sim and now after getting my mind around arrays and how they work I am facing another challenge.
The Question is: how do I display large amounts of data in a proper way like a table with clickable cells.

For example: I have 14 differ space stations 5 of each kind.

Now what I want to achieve is a list view first of all station kinds. On click I want to show all stations of this kind on click on a station I want to show detail information for this station. Like coordinates, Storage, Products. All those values are saved in arrays so the selection should be no problem. But what I cant find is a proper way to display those. In html/php/MySQL I would do it with a simple table. But what is the right way to do it in construct? I’ve experimented a little with lists or text elements but what I am missing is some kind of ID or something so when I click on a text item I can give an “id” of a row in an array to which the program shows details.
I am thankful for any thoughts on this.

Regards
joschi
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 222
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 8:12 am

Wouldn't using instance variables work for that?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:12 pm

Sorry @LittleStain, i dont understand... i am using instance variables, but i am looking for a good way to display those data... its really more about interface design...


regards
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 222
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 2:30 pm

So you have that data in array?

Create instance variable called unique id so when you click the station it captures the id. Pass that id to a function that grabs the data from array.

So many ways to display it. There are 3rd party plugins that can make it look like a excel spreadsheet, you can make your own cells with text boxes...

All in all, it depends.

Have a look it this...C2 data editor
He has a capx with a bunch of useful functions
You can do something similiar.
this is the search, but you can have it fill with info based on your own inputs (unique id)
searchdemo.JPG


The capx was to demonstrate fetching/searching the data that the software handles.
It is pretty impressive, a little pricey, but you will learn something and it will save you time. Win / Win.

Note: this is a piece of software to create complicated data... arrays / dictionary sets.
I like this dictionaries with arrays inside as deep as you want to go.
For a simple example
Dictionary
Station1 "Array"
Station2 "Array"
etc
He also gives a Capx with built in functions to allow you to retrieve and edit that data. Lots of work went into this tool. Nice to have if you are doing massive data projects.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Wed Oct 29, 2014 3:37 pm

@DUTOIT thank you very much! that helps a lot! ive got it now, building with text cells!
For the data editor: i will definetly buy it, just wanted to figure the stuff out before :)

Next step is to put everything in a scrollable menu :) thanks again ;)

@LittleStain now i also got what you meant with instance variables :D


regards
joschi
B
19
S
7
G
1
Posts: 222
Reputation: 2,546


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: darkrealos, Rhindon and 26 guests