How do I - Do a Layer Jump?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:44 am

Not sure what the actual term is called, but it's a feature (seen in Shantae: Risky's Revenge) where the player can jump from one layer to the next (with the exception of the background and hud layer). You can see it in action here. I'm not sure if you can do this with a tile map object, but I think that using separate sprites might be better. Now, it might be on a different layer, it might not be. It could be all one layer by using fancy effects and what not. However, personally, I think top layer is invisible and what you see behind the current layer is the bottom one. As you move to the back layers, the current one becomes invisible. As you jump forward, the previous layer becomes the background layer and the top layer becomes the current layer. As far as collision is handled, everything is interacted on the current layer. This all speculation, so I apologize if I'm not making sense. :/ I'm not that good at explaining things.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 9:50 am

You could do this in many ways..
Most important part would be disabling the solid behaviour on the layer you are not on..
One of the things to look out for might be the enormous amount of graphic memory needed, but you could indeed solve a lot of that with the tilemap object and re-using a lot of sprites (only drawing them when needed)..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:22 pm

Yeah, I was aware of the memory issue with using too many graphics. The thing about tile-maps is that you can't really click through the alpha spaces. :V
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:26 pm

Azu wrote:Yeah, I was aware of the memory issue with using too many graphics. The thing about tile-maps is that you can't really click through the alpha spaces. :V


Click through alpha spaces?
What do you mean?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:34 am

Clicking on the empty spots in a tilemap doesn't result in the object under the tilemap getting a click.

This looks really interesting! I guess everything above the current layer is invisible, and everything below has it's scale and parallax altered depending on how deep it is. I don't imagine having any serious resource issues with less than half a dozen layers, but you will have to build it and find out. I look forward to your progress!
B
14
S
5
G
1
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1,536

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2015 6:54 am

bladedpenguin wrote:Clicking on the empty spots in a tilemap doesn't result in the object under the tilemap getting a click.

This looks really interesting! I guess everything above the current layer is invisible, and everything below has it's scale and parallax altered depending on how deep it is. I don't imagine having any serious resource issues with less than half a dozen layers, but you will have to build it and find out. I look forward to your progress!


Strange, for it does when I test it..
The tilemap itself also registers the click, but that shouldn't be an issue..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:31 am

Ah well nvm I thought azu was on to something. I can't wait to see what you produce!
B
14
S
5
G
1
Posts: 189
Reputation: 1,536


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rhindon and 15 guests