How do I do ingame chagnes to global layers that stick

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Dec 10, 2016 9:42 pm

Hey guys, a quick question if this thing i'm trying to do is even possible. I have a layer which is something like an inventory. It is global. When I drag n drop sprite objects inside, I move them to said layer. Then after changing layouts, they are not there - but the rest of the layer is...as it is unused in the editor. Any clue how I can overcome this?

Thanks
Cheers
B
18
S
3
Posts: 65
Reputation: 994

Post » Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:35 pm

It's hard to tell without looking at your file. I load my global layers on a separate layout first, with all the files that you need for them already on that layer. Then I just switch visibility/functionality off as needed in the game. It might not be suitable for your purposes though I'm not sure. I would say the individual objects are disappearing when changing layouts because they themselves are not global.
B
66
S
25
G
4
Posts: 211
Reputation: 7,057

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:32 pm

They are global, but are put into the global layer during the course of the game, imagine picking up a Sword that is not in a global layer, placing it in my inventory layer - which is a global layer - then moving the Sword from the non global layer into the inventory global layer. But the the sword is not in the same layer when I change rooms...
B
18
S
3
Posts: 65
Reputation: 994

Post » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:35 pm

Actually it works, I was doing something wrong, but now I see it's fine. The sword is there! THanks.

Cheers!
B
18
S
3
Posts: 65
Reputation: 994


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests