How do I do this with a CSV table

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:23 am

So another question brought to you my noob me :D

So, I'm trying to figure out how this works:

I load a csv table using ajax, I can get info from the loaded table using rex's great plugin CSV and print it in the screen. So far so good.
Now, I would like to feed the info found within a column using the plugin expression AtCol.

At first, I figured out it would be something like this: CSV.AtCol("d") (Like I said, noob me :) )

What am I missing here as info that I epically fail to see? Thanks in advance!
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:59 pm

Shameless super bump!
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:04 am

Perhaps you should ask for help regarding specific plugin information in that plugin's thread.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
109
Posts: 1,606
Reputation: 61,633

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:28 am

FraktalZero wrote:So another question brought to you my noob me :D

So, I'm trying to figure out how this works:

I load a csv table using ajax, I can get info from the loaded table using rex's great plugin CSV and print it in the screen. So far so good.
Now, I would like to feed the info found within a column using the plugin expression AtCol.

At first, I figured out it would be something like this: CSV.AtCol("d") (Like I said, noob me :) )

What am I missing here as info that I epically fail to see? Thanks in advance!

The right syntax would be:
Code: Select all
CSV.At(3, 0)

3 is the Column and 0 the Row
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:39 pm

@oosyrag I did, but didn't wanna continue bothering further since I failed to understand.

@realMantis, thanks. it helps me figure out how it works. I had it completely wrong
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:50 pm

Ok, actually, no, it didn't answer my question.
I asked in the plugin thread but the answer was complex for me since I don't fully understand how it works yet.

The answer was:
" You might create 2 csv tables, one is logical position to object name, for example: (0,3) is "door".
The other table is object name to properties, for example ( "door", "x" ) = 0 "

I did create these two tables but I fail to understand how I can use the expression CSV.AtCol( )


I recently was asking how to make doors and now it works using instance variables, but I would like to get it working better using a database so I can have more control over the design of the levels.

So what Im trying to do is, when player overlaps a door, we do a search on a table to see if the doorID is located, if True then compare in a table the xPos and Ypos where the player will be positioned too once it enters the next layout. And this info should be sent to the player.
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:14 pm

And now I'm confused :lol:

Do you mean something like this? :?
Image
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:45 pm

hahaha sorry, yes, I can actually transition between layout with no problem, but the way I do worries me for when my levels will be full of sprites. In my project I might end up sometimes with several doors leading to different layouts and then you can always come back so I need a way to keep it organized
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:55 pm

So typical RPG stuff :lol:

I need to try this my self to see how this could work best. But at the moment, i have to little spare time. It could take some time for me to find a good solution. Maybe someone else has a good idea how to solve this. :?
B
11
S
4
G
5
Posts: 74
Reputation: 3,435

Post » Sat Jun 25, 2016 4:59 pm

no problem @realMantis.
Thanks!

Is there anyone that could help noob me to better understand this please? :D
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AllanR, brunopalermo, farsen, ST314 and 27 guests