How do I drop items into an inventory on a timer?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:59 am

I am making a prototype of a game idea centered around using an inventory of crates that are opened to perform game tasks and one type of crate will be dropping into the inventory over time; money crates which need to be opened to get the money. Most of the inventory examples I have seen assume you will be 'picking up' items, I was wondering how can I drop an item into an inventory on a timer instead of upon some player action. The inventory needs to be drag and drop for my mechanic idea to work.
I can elaborate on my game idea if needed to help me out.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 556

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:17 am

Message: shilief can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
If it helps, here is a capx of my prototype so far, which has some of the game's elements represented: http://punychan.org/games/capx/LootBoxCity.capx
B
4
S
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 556

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:58 pm

Most of the inventory examples .... You say ....

Most of the inventory examples have an inventory, a place to store things, usually an array.
You are still on a point that lacks one.

I will be happy to help, but at this point you have (besides a graphical representation, that should be a tilemap) nothing in place. So helping at this point will be rewriting one of the many inventory tutorials.

So may i kindly suggest that you, based on the many excellent inventory examples, code your inventory system. Without worrying about the 'delay' yet. Adding the delay, as in your question, i will be happy to help with.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:00 pm

99Instances2Go wrote:So may i kindly suggest that you, based on the many excellent inventory examples, code your inventory system. Without worrying about the 'delay' yet. Adding the delay, as in your question, i will be happy to help with.


I will work on that today, thanks for the advice.
B
4
S
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 556

Post » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:57 pm

Also, plz, use a tilemap for the zones. That will spare you a LOT of code later on.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950


Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest