How do I edit text in a text box?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:17 am

Hi all,

I'm following along with the "Ghost Shooter" tutorial, and I've reached the following point:

"Double-click a space to insert another object. This time pick the Text object. Place it in the top left corner of the layout. It's going to be hard to see if it's black, so in the properties bar, make it bold, italic, yellow, and choose a slightly larger font size."

The thing is, I can't find where I'm supposed to edit it in the properties bar. I've spent awhile looking around but can't find anything. (I did manage to do some minor editing by setting up a CSS action in the event tab). Can someone please help?

Thanks,

-Yager
B
6
Posts: 5
Reputation: 270

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 10:17 am

Make sure you have clicked to select the text object, then ensure that on the left hand side, it's properties are showing. The section at the bottom is what you require.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,544
Reputation: 60,432

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:01 am

Hi zenox98,

Thanks for your reply. I don't see those options under the property bar though. I've tried clicking and double clicking the text box in the Layout tab and the Objects tab, but to no avail. I've attached an image of what I see.

Thanks,

-Yager
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
6
Posts: 5
Reputation: 270

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:09 am

That's because you have used a 'Text Box' object rather than the normal 'Text' object.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
137
S
31
G
87
Posts: 5,544
Reputation: 60,432

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:12 am

I see! Thank you for the help!

-Yager
B
6
Posts: 5
Reputation: 270

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:38 pm

Also if you like a kind of text you can "right click" => clone it, to make another one with same settings, do not use ctrlv/ctrl+v or it won't work like you expect ^^
B
5
Posts: 46
Reputation: 334

Post » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:47 pm

Hi Foxmaster,

Good advice! Thanks!

-Yager
B
6
Posts: 5
Reputation: 270


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests