How do I even make proper Animations?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Mar 07, 2013 9:20 pm

Save from Blender or other 3d program with Alpha (which means transparency) enabled. SC2 will respect that transparency.

B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:35 pm

[QUOTE=California] Save from Blender or other 3d program with Alpha (which means transparency) enabled. SC2 will respect that transparency.

[/QUOTE]

Ok, so after rendering the animations (I turned it down to 25 frames to make it quicker), and setting it to RGBA, there still is a grey background. So am I supposed to remove it in CS2 or is that not normal? By the way thanks for the help..Murad962013-03-07 23:02:48
B
4
Posts: 38
Reputation: 451

Post » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:13 pm

@Whiteclaws
it really is helping, although I think I have chosen the hardest character to animate..
B
18
S
5
G
7
Posts: 593
Reputation: 7,086

Post » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:36 pm

@Murad96

I have a character template to sell on Graphic River, and I did it by designing on adobe fireworks, as GIF image.

My personal suggestion is follow the ladder of learning curve.

The first thing to learn and try is the basic movements using templates, where you can buy on many sites, or get it for free searching on google, or on sites like deviantart.com, then, try to do simple animations to start practice, 4 frames per second is a good start. After it, drawn the intermediary animations, what we call by "transitions".

You can check infinite number of tutorials of how to animate movements (specially when talking about anime and manga) on youtube.com.

I personally like to think in efficient way of animate a 2D character when I do like the castle crashers did, drawing a modular character, so the arms and legs animate independent of the body and head.


https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/355/making-character-composed-of-multiple-partsTELLES08082013-03-08 12:40:51
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
92
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,190
Reputation: 18,272

Post » Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:54 pm

[QUOTE=Murad96] [QUOTE=California] Save from Blender or other 3d program with Alpha (which means transparency) enabled. SC2 will respect that transparency.

[/QUOTE]

Ok, so after rendering the animations (I turned it down to 25 frames to make it quicker), and setting it to RGBA, there still is a grey background. So am I supposed to remove it in CS2 or is that not normal? By the way thanks for the help..[/QUOTE] can you share one of the PNGs and/or part of the blender file?

B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Fri Mar 08, 2013 8:07 pm

[QUOTE=California] [QUOTE=Murad96] [QUOTE=California] Save from Blender or other 3d program with Alpha (which means transparency) enabled. SC2 will respect that transparency.

[/QUOTE]

Ok, so after rendering the animations (I turned it down to 25 frames to make it quicker), and setting it to RGBA, there still is a grey background. So am I supposed to remove it in CS2 or is that not normal? By the way thanks for the help..[/QUOTE] can you share one of the PNGs and/or part of the blender file?

[/QUOTE]

No need, I've removed the transparency with Paint.net. But can you please take a look at my Construct 2 file with the animations of the stickman I put in? When I have any animation playing the player seems to keep flashing, and there's other problems as well like when I turn right or left, the player sometimes teleports to another position.

http://www.mediafire.com/?q3a5hr4972y432j

By the way I increased the animation speed to make it appear smoother.

Please reply I've spent hours learning how to use Blender and trying to fix problems with animations..

Also every time I import a frame into CS2, the collisions are always messed up so I have to fix them, and I can't seem to be able to drag all the frames at once into CS2.Murad962013-03-10 20:17:19
B
4
Posts: 38
Reputation: 451

Post » Mon Mar 11, 2013 2:01 am

just saw the capx.
your issue is that you are using the player as player AND playerImages, and you need to create an invisible object.

The manual recommends: "For the most reliable platform movement, it is recommended to use a invisible rectangle sprite with no animations with the Platform movement. Then, the animated player object can be positioned on top of that. Otherwise, the changing size and collision polygon of the object as its animation plays can interfere with the Platform movement's floor, wall and slope detection, causing a shaking or glitchymovement."

this tutorial will solve all your issues:
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/243/building-a-platform-game-a-beginners-guide/page-1
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:30 pm

btw you also have in separate events two of the keyboard keys (A and D if I'm correct). Put them in the same action.
B
18
S
5
G
4
Posts: 568
Reputation: 5,079

Post » Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:35 pm

[QUOTE=California] just saw the capx.
your issue is that you are using the player as player AND playerImages, and you need to create an invisible object.

The manual recommends: "For the most reliable platform movement, it is recommended to use a invisible rectangle sprite with no animations with the Platform movement. Then, the animated player object can be positioned on top of that. Otherwise, the changing size and collision polygon of the object as its animation plays can interfere with the Platform movement's floor, wall and slope detection, causing a shaking or glitchymovement."

this tutorial will solve all your issues:
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/243/building-a-platform-game-a-beginners-guide/page-1[/QUOTE]

Yea I remember seeing that in the tutorial. Thought it won't do any difference but looks like it does, thanks! I think it will solve the issue of the collision polygons being messed up as well hopefully.Murad962013-03-11 21:35:43
B
4
Posts: 38
Reputation: 451

Post » Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:35 pm

[QUOTE=California] just saw the capx.
your issue is that you are using the player as player AND playerImages, and you need to create an invisible object.

The manual recommends: "For the most reliable platform movement, it is recommended to use a invisible rectangle sprite with no animations with the Platform movement. Then, the animated player object can be positioned on top of that. Otherwise, the changing size and collision polygon of the object as its animation plays can interfere with the Platform movement's floor, wall and slope detection, causing a shaking or glitchymovement."

this tutorial will solve all your issues:
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/243/building-a-platform-game-a-beginners-guide/page-1[/QUOTE]

I make an invisible Player sprite, and when I do the running animations, it still flashes/move back and forth. Even before that, the animation didn't even happen, and after I made the Player sprite larger, it did happen with flashing.

What did I do wrong this time? I'm following the tutorial and have pinned the image, and I still have problems.

Please check my Construct 2 file, I've even started again.

http://www.mediafire.com/?q3a5hr4972y432j

The same happens with my standing animations, so I had to make him stand still completely with the standing animation.

I know there are the other problems but they're there because I started again, the problems I don't know how to fix are the ones I mentioned.

****s sake what's the point in trying..Murad962013-03-11 22:36:21
B
4
Posts: 38
Reputation: 451

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LeFuji, qaisarehman and 19 guests