How do I expand my layout upward

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:09 am

when you begin a new layout it puts the margin in the upper left corner.. my project size is something like 600 by 500..

anyway I am making a platformer and trying to build upward, past my window size but when i got to resize the layout for the height it will always put more room downward......what should i do?
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:22 am

You have to move every thing down that's the only solution.

The reason is that the viewports coordinate system is up side down from what you would expect from a normal coordinate system. (Its like that for all programming languages as far as I know, not only C2).

So 0,0 is the top left corner

(0,0)----------->(100,0)
|
|
|
|
(0,100)

So when you make the layout bigger it will increase sizes in these directions.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,838

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:34 am

see i did that and it cuts everything in half even though im within the layout bar....
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:36 am

do i have to move that dotted box?
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:40 am

When you add your character and apply ScrollTo, it will sort itself out.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
21
G
230
Posts: 3,688
Reputation: 128,847

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:45 am

do i have to move that dotted box?

The dotted box is the view area, and you cant move it during design.

When you add your character and apply ScrollTo, it will sort itself out.

So you would do like this or make a event that keep moving the view to your player.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,838

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:02 am

I have 3 levels made so far and have been using the Scroll to Behavior for them...but for this fourth level i decided to want to build upward...so i took one of previous levels and messed with ith and then expanded my layout and moved the entire level down....but for some reason it doesnt like it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:32 am

The big empty space in the view area is that the problem?

Also you don't need margins that big, it just let you set the blue area around the workspace, where you can place objects during design.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,838

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:46 am

it was the parallax, that was causing the issue, i had to adjust to the new location, argggggggggggggggg
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Post » Wed Apr 30, 2014 1:49 am

now the parallax was set at 0,0 before for the UI, not sure where to have it now 206,1063, is the position of the player
B
9
S
2
Posts: 272
Reputation: 1,632

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: luckyrawatlucky, nahima and 9 guests