How do I export a game to run offline?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:45 pm

Is there a way to export a game and put the files onto a flashdrive and be able to play the game on another system with the flashdrive?
B
16
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,479

Post » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:56 pm

Export it as a html5 project and copy the output directory to your flash drive. Then when you are at the new computer, load up the index.html file into your favorite browser and voila!
B
50
S
21
G
8
Posts: 844
Reputation: 10,299

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:31 am

That won't work or at least doesn't for me. C2 has/had a clause in 108.2 that if the game is not being properly viewed from a webserver. The game will just give an warning error.

"Exported games won't work until you upload them"

I got myself a portable webserver(mowes) to handle this.

The other alternative is to put the game onto a webserver and ready it with the offline.appcache. Go to the game with your portable browser and make sure the cache is set to your flash drive and hope for the best :D
B
87
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 14,834

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:42 am

Use Awesomium , It will give you an .exe that you can load whenever you want and wherever you want ...
B
35
S
16
G
16
Posts: 2,222
Reputation: 16,589

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:13 am

[QUOTE=justifun] Export it as a html5 project and copy the output directory to your flash drive. Then when you are at the new computer, load up the index.html file into your favorite browser and voila![/QUOTE]
Unfortunately, the system I wish to load it on only has an old version of IE TT.TT
B
16
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,479

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:15 am

[QUOTE=Whiteclaws] Use Awesomium , It will give you an .exe that you can load whenever you want and wherever you want ...[/QUOTE]
I have no idea how this works :\
B
16
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,479

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:30 am

Anyone know how to use Awesomium?
B
16
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,479

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:28 am

I think you resolved this in another topic?
But it's basically just an export feature when you buy the license to export your game as an .exe.
B
36
S
10
G
6
Posts: 948
Reputation: 11,101

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:34 am

Yea I did.
B
16
S
2
Posts: 85
Reputation: 1,479


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Matthew de, Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests