How do I Fall between blocks

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 1:28 pm

Hey peps, apparently the platform behaviour seems to allow running up slopes or something? Anyway, I need to turn that off or make a way to fall through gaps.

Sequence 01_1.gif


I tried reducing the players speed hoping that would work but it didn't. It's pretty ridiculous since the gap is 16 pixels wide, and I keep reducing the playerbox (an invisible sprite to handle collisions for the player) down to 10 pixels but he still won't fall down if he runs over it.

Is the gap too small? Is it due to the behaviour? Engine? Little help?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 3:33 pm

The built-in Platform behavior has a lot of idiosyncracies. I'd suggest making the gap a little wider. Mabe add a tiny portion of tile- 4x16? That looks the same as the existing tiled background, but doesn't have the solid behavior.
B
11
S
4
Posts: 152
Reputation: 1,236

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:23 pm

@Unnatural20

If I made a custom control system using the custom movement behaviour, do you think it would fix it?
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:28 pm

@Ashley

Does the platformer behaviour have a feature that "auto-climbs" small elevations?
If so, could that be causing this? If so, can you include an option to turn it off in the next build?
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:30 pm

are you using tilemap if yes than check block you are talking about is not solid.
B
239
S
37
G
15
Posts: 1,922
Reputation: 39,744

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:36 pm

Lordshiva1948 wrote:are you using tilemap if yes than check block you are talking about is not solid.


Yes I'm using tilemap. Also wouldn't disabling its solid property make all the blocks that are the same in the layout also make then unsolid?
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:55 pm

Are you using a controller invisible sprite?
B
43
S
12
G
14
Posts: 488
Reputation: 10,570

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:53 pm

The platform behavior isn't exactly suitable for low res pixel perfect games like that. The use of floating point positions makes it nearly impossible to drop into a gap just as wide as the player. So the first solution is to make the player's width a little smaller. Then next issue is how the platform behavior handles collisions. What it does is move the sprite and if it's overlapping any solids it then moves out of the solids in the closest direction. The side effect is the "auto-climbs" as you call it, and it's what enables the player to move up slopes.

One possible solution is to detect when you're walking over a hole and put a decoy wall at the other side of it for the player to hit and drop in.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
89
S
30
G
95
Posts: 5,157
Reputation: 63,450

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:39 pm

FraktalZero wrote:Are you using a controller invisible sprite?


Yes, currently it's 12 pixels wide. The gap is 16 pixels wide.

R0J0hound wrote:The platform behavior isn't exactly suitable for low res pixel perfect games like that. The use of floating point positions makes it nearly impossible to drop into a gap just as wide as the player. So the first solution is to make the player's width a little smaller. Then next issue is how the platform behavior handles collisions. What it does is move the sprite and if it's overlapping any solids it then moves out of the solids in the closest direction. The side effect is the "auto-climbs" as you call it, and it's what enables the player to move up slopes.

One possible solution is to detect when you're walking over a hole and put a decoy wall at the other side of it for the player to hit and drop in.



The player's collision box, which is a separate invisible sprite, is 12px wide, the gap is 16px.
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Post » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:45 pm

@R0J0hound

Does anyone have a plugin similar to the Platformer behaviour without the slope detection? Or is there a way to use the SDK to make another behaviour? I want the player to move the same way Samus does in Metroid, I'd never have thought Construct 2 wouldn't have something as basic as disabling slope detection. Ah well.

EDIT: Nearly forgot, thanks for the .capx!!!
The moderators are corrupt and ban for no reason, especially that condescending neckbeard asshole Kyatric. The forums are filled with fanboys.
Banned User
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 558
Reputation: 2,925

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests