How do I find the Fade Behavior?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:10 pm

I found this, but i can't find the Fade Behavior anywhere:

https://www.scirra.com/manual/95/fade

I want an object that starts at 100 Opacity. Then it fades over X seconds to 0 opacity. Then it fades back to 100 opacity over X seconds.

So it starts visible, Fades out over X seconds, then fades back to Visible (100 opacity) over X seconds. Repeating in a loop.

Can the Fade behavior do that?

Also, where is the Fade Behavior?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:12 pm

I looked in both Events and Actions, no Fade behavior to be found.

At start of Layout, Sprite is at 100 opacity. It fades to Zero opacity over X seconds. As soon as it hits Zero opacity, it fades back to 100 opacity over X seconds. Repeating in a loop.

Where is the Fade behavior, and can the Fade behavior do as I described?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:18 pm

you need to apply it to the object you want to fade. Click the object, look to properties in the left of the screen, add new behavior.

Image
Have retro games for sale? Buy & Sell Retro Games UK
B
9
S
2
Posts: 68
Reputation: 768

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:22 pm

And it was right there all along. Thank you so much :)
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:26 pm

Wait. I see Fade in time, then Fade out time. Can i re-arrange it so it starts faded in, then fades out?
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:50 pm

Have retro games for sale? Buy & Sell Retro Games UK
B
9
S
2
Posts: 68
Reputation: 768

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:41 pm

Im on a friend's computer so i dont want to download anything.

I described the desired action in my earlier post.

Start of Layout - Sprite at 100 Opacity

Fade out over X seconds.

Fade in over X seconds.

"At start of Layout, Sprite is at 100 opacity. It fades to Zero opacity over X seconds. As soon as it hits Zero opacity, it fades back to 100 opacity over X seconds. Repeating in a loop."

The idea is to have it start at 100 Opacity, not 0, when the layout begins.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:47 pm

Wait. Once it fades out, it does not come back.

At start of Layout, Sprite is at 100 opacity. It fades to Zero opacity over X seconds. As soon as it hits Zero opacity, it fades back to 100 opacity over X seconds. Repeating in a loop.

As in, a loop. Fade out, Fade in, back to Fade out, Fade in, etc etc etc.

Destroy is set to "No". Why is it not fading back in?

Fade is supposed to be a loop. Once it fades out, the Fade in time is supposed to kick in and the sprite is supposed to fade back in.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:03 pm

FOUND IT!!!! IT'S RESTART FADE WOOOO!!!!
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:08 pm

@Phoenixbowman

It is possible to just edit your previous post using the pencil icon. Unecessary multi-posting causes a lot of forum 'noise', and more work for mods :/

Cheers
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
131
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,630


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest