How do I fix menu switching?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:53 pm

Hi

I can't seem to figure out why my load time from my start menu to my game is almost 10 seconds. I only have about 7 sprites so i doubt that is the problem. Without this issue fixed i cant go on with my game development. This is an android game, but i'm testing it on a Pc and it still has a load problem. I dont understand how other games have near instant load times

I would appreciate any help i can get! :D

Im new to construct 2 so please be detailed. ATM my code is " When touching button, switch instance to game"

Thanks ahead of time!
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 90
Reputation: 2,045

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:53 pm

Well, first question is it if load that layout without going there from the start menu, does it still take 10 seconds. If you are loading something, have a look at the Javascript debugger, which should give you some clue as to what is going on - if it is loading a big file, there is usually a tab showing network access. My initial thought was that it is trying to load something it can't find and the 10 seconds is timeout maybe ?
My tutorial through development blog is at http://myconstruct2dev.blogspot.co.uk/
B
12
S
3
Posts: 221
Reputation: 1,328

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:18 pm

OK. so go to debugger mode and see what it says?
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 90
Reputation: 2,045

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:00 pm

Not the C2 debugger, the Javascript one. Most browsers have one, and they allow you to see what is going on under the hood - so if you are (say) loading an enormous file it will show this.
My tutorial through development blog is at http://myconstruct2dev.blogspot.co.uk/
B
12
S
3
Posts: 221
Reputation: 1,328

Post » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:20 pm

Ok I'll try that and get back with you. Thanks
B
22
S
7
G
1
Posts: 90
Reputation: 2,045


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jasontoups, raptor0555 and 1 guest