How do I fix my roguelike level generation

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:17 am

Hi!

I've started to build my first roguelike mini-game, guided by well-known tutorial on Scirra: https://goo.gl/7Xyfbt
But I met some issues listed below:

1. I have implemented a "Fake 3D" look of "wall" tiles that doesn't overlap the next tile below itself. It works inside the dungeon, but for some reasons it doesn't works for those tiles that borders with exactly same tiles that surrounds dungeon. I've broken my head of it already. Screenshot: http://imgur.com/a/QmBU4

2. Are there any possible ways to improve the look of "wall" tiles, to surraund the dungeon edges by "border-tiles" and make it more like walls on screenshot attached? How to check that it is a "border-tile" for the left / right / top / bottom wall and set a neccessary animation frame? Screenshot: http://imgur.com/a/bIja3

3. The dungeon can't be generated when the layout is restarted after destoying of the player. Instead of new random dungeon I receives the whole screen tiled by walls and the "room" objects. Screenshot: http://imgur.com/a/ziAuj

Also here is the .CAPX: https://goo.gl/vOk3uM

Any advice - I will appreciate much!
B
8
S
2
Posts: 37
Reputation: 661

Post » Tue Jun 06, 2017 5:51 pm

The auto generate the tiles, use Bitmasking.
Here very well explained:
https://gamedevelopment.tutsplus.com/tu ... -cms-25673

Here are 2 examples in C2 script:
quot-auto-tile-quot-help_t186871?&hilit=tile

Here is a simple tutorial explaining the basics.
https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/746/au ... ise-method

Its true, that tutorial can not be generated on a layout restart. That is because of the tickcount = ? conditions.
Ticks keep on counting.

That tutorial is excellent in explaining how the basics work. But i dont think the result is really the way to go. It ends up with to many sprites, (my opinion) a workable model should be done with Tilemaps.

Consider this plugin ? roguelike-plugin-c2-rot-js-interface_t118452
B
33
S
18
G
27
Posts: 2,434
Reputation: 20,332

Post » Tue Jun 06, 2017 6:27 pm

Message: artheads can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
99Instances2Go wrote:Consider this plugin ? roguelike-plugin-c2-rot-js-interface_t118452


Thank you so much for the links, I'm going to learn it right now!

P.S. I've tried this plugin but it has few cons like fixed width of the hallways and I don't yet understand how to make "fake 3D look" of the front walls.
B
8
S
2
Posts: 37
Reputation: 661


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], marc254 and 5 guests