How do I fix rand gen issue!?!?!?!?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:45 am

Hi,
I have a project which randomly generates a world for a split screen game,using R0J0hounds Paster plugin for the screens in game.
When i run the randomly generated layout it works perfectly but the second I switch from any other layout to the layout with the random generation,it stops working!
I have spent countless hours trying to solve this,created more than 20 projects with similar interfaces but all come back to this issue :!:
I would release the .capx publicly if it wasn't a company project,but im willing to send out the full version under an NDA in private.
Any help would be appreciated!
@Kyatric
B
7
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 556

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 10:52 am

Without seeing at least your event sheet this question can't be answered, but maybe you can answer it yourself..

What is the difference between starting the layout directly and starting it from another layout?
Are there changes in global or other variables?
Are there global objects that could be interfering?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 11:07 am

LittleStain wrote:Without seeing at least your event sheet this question can't be answered

imgur. com/9CVhbOn (Can't post links :roll: remove the space)
Image
All the InGameSheet has is player commands and it is definitely not interfering with the generation.

LittleStain wrote:But maybe you can answer it yourself..

I have made the generation as simple as possible,and ive added a completely blank layout that switches to the generation on any touch and it still doesn't work!
I have gone as far as removing the plugin completely to no avail.
B
7
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 556

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 11:22 am

Well it's obvious..

system tickcount = 2

can never be true if you have a layout before this..
It checks if it's the second tick since the game started and that second tick has already long passed..

This ofcourse also is the case for system tickcount = 3 and 4 etcetera..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sun Aug 02, 2015 11:52 am

LittleStain wrote:Well it's obvious..

Holy shit man thanks,youve literally just saved my job :P
Thanks a ton bud!
B
7
S
1
Posts: 50
Reputation: 556


Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests