How do I fix this?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 14, 2017 7:39 pm

Hi. I'm currently programming scrolling text, and I was following a tutorial, and it dosen't seem to be working. Can anyone tell me where I've gone wrong and how to fix it? My current work is on Layout 5 and Event Sheet 5, so I'm not that far in. Also, my DropBox is full so that's why I'm using a Google Drive link. Thanks in advance!

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5jnTC ... sp=sharing
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 900

Post » Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:20 pm

Your target/source text should be Test2, and your length should be based on your visible text Test, so you have those swapped. Also, your Test object needs to start out empty. That expression says set Text to whatever the length of Test was originally +1 character, so if your original text starts out already longer than your target text, you won't get the typewriter effect.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
110
Posts: 1,618
Reputation: 62,157

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:46 am

oosyrag wrote:Your target/source text should be Test2, and your length should be based on your visible text Test, so you have those swapped. Also, your Test object needs to start out empty. That expression says set Text to whatever the length of Test was originally +1 character, so if your original text starts out already longer than your target text, you won't get the typewriter effect.



Do I set the length based on the amount of letters or words or...?
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 900

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 3:05 am

The expression you are using says take however long your text currently is, and display one more character. This will happen every 0.2 seconds.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
110
Posts: 1,618
Reputation: 62,157

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:33 pm

oosyrag wrote:The expression you are using says take however long your text currently is, and display one more character. This will happen every 0.2 seconds.


Oh! I see now. Thanks!
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 900

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:34 pm

oosyrag wrote:Your target/source text should be Test2, and your length should be based on your visible text Test, so you have those swapped. Also, your Test object needs to start out empty. That expression says set Text to whatever the length of Test was originally +1 character, so if your original text starts out already longer than your target text, you won't get the typewriter effect.


Update: So in the string do I swap Test1 and Test2 around? Also, I made the correct one empty, and put text in the other.
B
6
S
1
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 900

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 4:41 pm

In the expression, swap test1 and test2. The visible text on your layout should start empty.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
110
Posts: 1,618
Reputation: 62,157


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artcadev, Blendi1223, dop2000 and 57 guests