How do I generate terrain with javascript

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:24 pm

hello,

I find a script that genere random field for " infinite runner" using canvas and javascript. But i dont know how I could integrate it to construct 2. I 'm not a pro in javascript, if you have any idea how I could make it works, can be very useful .

Here is the script : jsfiddle.net/loktar/XDpd3/light/

thank you.

PS : sorry for my bad english ^^"
B
9
S
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 653

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:26 pm

You could do it with sprites set to width 1, height to window width - random(n), and the xy to x +1, y to window width.
Where the hotspot is set to the bottom of the sprite.

Thats a lot of objects.
Thats a lot of objects to move.
Thats a lot of objects to do collisions on.
B
179
S
50
G
208
Posts: 8,721
Reputation: 128,810

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 6:58 pm

we cant generate line sprite with construct 2?
B
9
S
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 653

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:08 pm

You can't draw to the canvas, but there are third party plugs that you can draw in.
Keep in mind they don't do collisions, and some don't do webgl.
B
179
S
50
G
208
Posts: 8,721
Reputation: 128,810

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:59 pm

This is very basic, but you can use a tiled-background of 1x1 and just adjust the height.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
ImageImageImage
B
72
S
22
G
290
Posts: 3,886
Reputation: 159,513

Post » Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:28 pm

You can also make it less jaggy by interpolating the random data over time, lerp works nice.
B
179
S
50
G
208
Posts: 8,721
Reputation: 128,810

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 8:09 am

Thanks you for your quick response ^^
B
9
S
3
Posts: 14
Reputation: 653


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000, urkokan and 13 guests