How do I generate text on a sprite?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 6:23 pm

Hey guys, i'm new to Construct 2 so any help would be appreciated.

For my game I need to figure out how to generate text on top of my sprites which are essentially blocks. These sprites are generated instances of one original and I have 8, those of which get stored into an array for easier access. As of now, they all generate a random number value when created(1-9 respectively) and I need those numbers to dynamically show up on the blocks upon creation. I've downloaded a behavior plugin called "Text on Sprites", but I'm either not using it right or it's just not working for what I need. Wondering if anybody has some good suggestions as to how I should go about this.

Thanks in advance!
B

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 7:11 pm

B
S
G

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 7:12 pm

If you store the number in a variable for your sprite then you can do it like this.

Code: Select all
For each Sprite
      System create object Text (Sprite.X, Sprite.Y)
      Set Text.text = Sprite.Number

If you have them in an array you can do it more or less the same way, you just need to get the number from the array instead.
B
S
G

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 7:42 pm

Thank you both! I will give it a shot and see what works best!
B

Post » Thu May 14, 2015 8:44 pm

@korbaach I appreciate the reply but as I looked over that I would have to restructure my code for it to pertain, thanks a lot though!

@nimos100 this solution seems to work..although, I have run into a problem where its spawning infinity text, and only on one block. I feel like I've nested the for-each improperly. To help with clarity I will post my current block of code:

SPAWNX & SPAWNY are global vars ( the initial spot the instances start to spawn)

Code: Select all
System On start of layout
System For "Y" from 0 - 1
  (sub event)System For "X" from 0 - 3: