How do I generate text on a sprite?

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Animated Text
$3.99 USD
With AnimatedText behavior you can make an impression of the text being “typed live”.
  • Hey guys, i'm new to Construct 2 so any help would be appreciated.

For my game I need to figure out how to generate text on top of my sprites which are essentially blocks. These sprites are generated instances of one original and I have 8, those of which get stored into an array for easier access. As of now, they all generate a random number value when created(1-9 respectively) and I need those numbers to dynamically show up on the blocks upon creation. I've downloaded a behavior plugin called "Text on Sprites", but I'm either not using it right or it's just not working for what I need. Wondering if anybody has some good suggestions as to how I should go about this.

Thanks in advance!

• if I understood you correctly..I think this can help you

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=130154

viewtopic.php?f=147&t=130345

capx> http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 7209151524

• If you store the number in a variable for your sprite then you can do it like this.

For each Sprite
          System create object Text (Sprite.X, Sprite.Y)
          Set Text.text = Sprite.Number
    [/code:329r6p75]

If you have them in an array you can do it more or less the same way, you just need to get the number from the array instead.
  • Thank you both! I will give it a shot and see what works best!

• korbaach I appreciate the reply but as I looked over that I would have to restructure my code for it to pertain, thanks a lot though!

nimos100 this solution seems to work..although, I have run into a problem where its spawning infinity text, and only on one block. I feel like I've nested the for-each improperly. To help with clarity I will post my current block of code:

SPAWNX & SPAWNY are global vars ( the initial spot the instances start to spawn)

System On start of layout