How do I get details for a website to a game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 7:37 am

Hi,
I'm developing a web-based game in that
1. User enters details like Name, number of players, etc.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/d0buk7vysnjhs4a/Screenshot%202016-04-22%2013.01.11.png?dl=0
2. After submitting the details, there user gets play option
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ge8exymx02l64v/Screenshot%202016-04-22%2013.04.08.png?dl=0
3. When play is clicked, the page redirects to the game where all the above inputs should be integrated into it.

I can develop the game but I'm not sure how to integrate those details into the game.

Please help.
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:43 pm

You can use Query Strings and use the Browser plugin to get at them.
https://www.scirra.com/manual/110/browser (go to the end).
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
259
Posts: 3,793
Reputation: 143,702

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:08 pm

@blackhornet
Is that easy? I thought for that I require to do something with php.


Thanks , I will look into it.
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:12 pm

Getting query string will import all those details into the game? Just a doubt.
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:19 pm

Doesn't look like much data, from what I can see.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
259
Posts: 3,793
Reputation: 143,702

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:36 pm

@blackhornet

I will tell you. The game is a web-based game where one can play it by entering details like there name, number of players to be played, level of difficulty, etc. Those details will be entered on a forum before entering the game.when the play button is clicked, the game has to retrive all those details from the previous page. The game begins with based on the details provided in the forum. I need to know how to do that. Does your suggestion solve my problem?

Please help.
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:43 pm

You'd pass them when going to the Game page, not after you've reached the game page.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
259
Posts: 3,793
Reputation: 143,702

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:01 pm

@blackhornet So, if I could pass them to the game page, can the game integrate those details into it so that the game goes according to the details provided?
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:44 pm

Yes, as I said, you pass them to the page as Query-strings, and read them via the Browser plugin. Make yourself a quick sample, to see how it can be done.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
259
Posts: 3,793
Reputation: 143,702

Post » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:17 am

@blackhornet Sure, I will try it right now. I will get back to you if I have anymore issues. Thanks.
B
24
S
7
Posts: 337
Reputation: 2,224

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bootfit and 14 guests