How do I get game's sound to play now it's uploaded to web?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2015 3:08 pm

Hi all,

I've managed to export my game to html5 and upload it to my ftp server.

If I point my browser to the index.html file then the game launches and plays fine, but there is no sound.

Wondered if this might be a MIME issue?

I'm on a Linux server, so I followed the instructions my provider gave along with what Scirra says about MIME types and added...

AddType audio/ogg .ogg
AddType audio/mp4 .mp4

...to the htaccess file but no luck. Does that sound right? It isn't working anyway. Anyone got any suggestions?

(I'm using Wordpress though I'm not sure this is affecting the issue.)

Thank you!
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 323

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:28 pm

MP4? Is you trying M4A? If you can get M4A working in server, this can work very well in browser (is different the platforms that supports M4A and OGG). Good luck! ;)
Liked something I say?
Tip. My Bitcoin address: 1PLaeKmXQ8vEdGGJqXMq3KyB8hxeddxeSv
B
24
S
7
G
4
Posts: 326
Reputation: 3,878

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:52 am

Thanks, Daniel. Good spot.

On the Scirra tutorial it says audio/mp4 for .m4a files, so I'd just copied that, but shouldn't t be audio/m4a?

Anyway - I tried changing it to m4a and that didn't work either.

Has anyone got any suggestions for what might be going wrong here?

I'm stumped. :?
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 323

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:08 am

Ok now it plays when I launch in IE but not in Chrome...

Any help would be very gratefully received.
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 323

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:29 am

What's your Chrome and Construct 2 version? Can you attach the .capx?
Liked something I say?
Tip. My Bitcoin address: 1PLaeKmXQ8vEdGGJqXMq3KyB8hxeddxeSv
B
24
S
7
G
4
Posts: 326
Reputation: 3,878

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:34 am

Both Chrome and Construct 2 are the latest versions. I can't attach the capx as it has personal info in (would take too long to explain why) but the sound works in Chrome when offline so I don't think the issue is with the capx.
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 323

Post » Thu Jun 18, 2015 10:36 pm

Working in IE? BINGO! You can clear the cache of your Chromium browser and re-open your app to test the sounds :D
Liked something I say?
Tip. My Bitcoin address: 1PLaeKmXQ8vEdGGJqXMq3KyB8hxeddxeSv
B
24
S
7
G
4
Posts: 326
Reputation: 3,878


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChoosyZerk and 65 guests