How do I get "is focused" from text boxes?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue May 10, 2016 3:49 am

I have been staring at my screen for a few hours now in disbelief at how enormously nonsensical the whole situation with text boxes is.
First I found they steal mouse clicks, making an instance variable based "is focused" system totally impossible.
Then I found they don't just steal focus for themselves, they steal focus for OTHER TEXT BOXES. So not even my ridiculous workaround that I thought would work, did.

I really, really want to know. Is it actually possible, let alone plausible that one could ever find whether a text box is focused or not?
Because seriously, it seems it would involve literal wizardry.

Thank you, so goddamn much if you have anything whatsoever to help in my quest.

TEXT BOXES NEED A GODDAMN "focus" BOOLEAN VARIABLE. NAO!
/frustration
B
42
S
14
G
3
Posts: 165
Reputation: 5,115

Post » Tue May 10, 2016 7:35 am

What do you mean by steal focus?
Mistakes were made.
B
49
S
24
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,303

Post » Tue May 10, 2016 8:57 am

TextBox_Focus.capx

TextBox focus is possible.
Frustration does not help.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
284
S
109
G
91
Posts: 7,317
Reputation: 87,483

Post » Tue May 10, 2016 1:20 pm

@Kyatric
Thank you so much for the example.
I ended up doing a similar workaround to yours.
B
42
S
14
G
3
Posts: 165
Reputation: 5,115


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests