How do I get my fonts to work on other devices?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:04 pm

Hi everybody, I was wondering, how do I get my fonts to work on other devices? I'm about to release my game, but I can't with this font problem happening. Could somebody please help me out? How do I "Set web font action"; and also, is that what I even need to do in order to fix the problem?

Thanks,
guannstar
B
28
S
5
G
1
Posts: 594
Reputation: 3,286

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:34 pm

I'm not sure what exactly the problem is that you are having. Have you considered using sprite fonts?
Image
B
75
S
23
G
3
Posts: 673
Reputation: 9,273

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:38 pm

Hey @TheDom, the problem is that the fonts will show up fine on my computer, but on other computers, it shows up as the default font (which is Arial). (Sorry) What are sprite fonts?
B
28
S
5
G
1
Posts: 594
Reputation: 3,286

Post » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:41 pm

sprites fonts are just pictures of the alphabet, and can be used for graphics text, scores in games
B
34
S
13
G
6
Posts: 1,644
Reputation: 8,765

Post » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:20 pm

Here's a couple of tutorials to get you started using the "sprite font" object in C2.

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/684/how-to-create-sprite-fonts

https://www.scirra.com/.../sprite-fonts-the-how-what-when-where
Image
B
75
S
23
G
3
Posts: 673
Reputation: 9,273

Post » Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:35 pm

I use a font that isn't on mobile phones. I don't use Sprite Fonts, what I do is add the font.ttf to the "files" in your project manager panel in Construct 2. You can copy/paste the font from your control panel > Fonts folder. The font I have in my game now works on all devices it is installed on and doesn't revert to some generic font.
B
34
S
10
G
4
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,036

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:45 am

@Drewford - so you just put the ttf file right in the files folder?
Image
B
20
S
4
Posts: 382
Reputation: 2,964

Post » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:44 am

PSI wrote:@Drewford - so you just put the ttf file right in the files folder?

Yes. I can confirm it works with CocoonJS. I use the font called "Attack of the Cucumber" in my Android games, and it's the only I could get it to work without using sprite fonts.
B
34
S
10
G
4
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,036

Post » Sun Sep 13, 2015 12:35 pm

Sorry to reopen this thread but I would like to confirm that @Drewford said. If yes, it's awesome! I really prefer to use text objects instead sprite-fonts.
B
74
S
13
G
3
Posts: 995
Reputation: 7,531

Post » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:28 pm

RenatoB wrote:Sorry to reopen this thread but I would like to confirm that @Drewford said. If yes, it's awesome! I really prefer to use text objects instead sprite-fonts.

I have since moved on and started using a plugin called SpriteFont+ (which handles the jSon string from the spritefont creating software)
But this method works or at least worked at the time I posted.
The only reason I moved away from that method is because I can edit the spritefont in photoshop and give it cool effects.
B
34
S
10
G
4
Posts: 93
Reputation: 4,036

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: el3um4s, Ryan Kocourek, TylerJS and 9 guests