How do I get sound to work in IE (only works in firefox) ??

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:02 pm

My game plays fine in Firefox.. however, there is absolutely NO sound when I try and play it with Internet Explorer.

I am using the latest version of Internet Explorer:

Windows 7 Ultimate, Version 6.1
Internet Explorer 11

Anybody have any solutions? I also encountered a problem where certain 'loop' sounds did not work on Android (which I'm still trying to solve), but now I've just discovered there is absolutely no sound when somebody tries to play the game and uses the latest version of Internet Explorer.

What am I missing?
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:41 pm

different browsers use different formats -

https://www.scirra.com/manual/52/import-audio
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Sat Mar 15, 2014 10:34 pm

RamPackWobble: Thank you TREMENDOUSLY for pointing me to the manual. I'm embarrassed to say I didn't find it -- even after looking/spending hours trying to figure it out. I do have, however, one question. After reading the above link, I understand there are 2 format: ogg and m4a. But then I THINK it basically suggests just to import the sound files as .wav and it converts them automatically for me (in windows 7)?? Did I understand that correctly.

At the moment, I'm not sure now if I should import them as .wav, OR ogg & m4a... plus, I'm not sure if I need to set up events for every single individual sound file. Could you possible just confirm which format I should use (I'm using windows 7):

.wav

or

ogg AND m4a

My worry is that if I start importing all these formats of all the same sounds and set up multiple events for the same sounds that it'll start playing it multiple times.. Thanks again for your help. At least I know I'm not nuts now. :)
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:30 am

Mostly good news... I used the freeware program 'audacity' and converted the files into wav. NOW most of the sounds work in Internet Explorer! :) I did hit one sound file that doesnt work.. even though Construct 2 said it converted it properly into both formats... I have no idea why.

Worse yet, I tried the same web page using firefox on my laptop which uses the operating system called 'Ubuntu'. On that computer, once again, some of the sound files aren't working... and that computer does have firefox (and the sound files did work on firefox with a different operating system.. I dunno.

Well.. it seems it ain't perfect, but its MUCH better now that I know that I must import them as .wav.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:55 am

Some sound files have improperly formed headers that cause issues in the browsers, I found this out the hard way, but noticed that whenever that particular sound tried to play the game would crash. I had to redo the sound file.
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,603

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:05 am

Hmm... nope. it does NOT cause any problems crashing.. just doesn't play... I also tried it on an Amazon app and same problem... some sounds played fine, and others were soooooooooooooooo faint that I literally had to put my ear to the speaker to hear it... I'm stumped. It SEEMS like the ones that don't play very loud on amazon are the ones that I told it to loop the sound.... but that's probably just a coincidence.. the volume is fine on loops on firefox.. and now also on IE... I dunno.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 8:26 am

I really am not the best person to answer questions on sound. It is a dark art with too many formats, sample rates and mimes (and lets face it, who wants to deal with mimes ?)
I am going , for once, to try to keep my mouth shut. Hopefully much more knowledgeable people will be able to answer your questions - my answers would be 70% guesswork. If you are still stuck in a couple of days then give me a nudge and we can try to muddle through ....
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:32 pm

I've got an idea.. would somebody out there mind downloading/trying out the 4 looping sound files I'm having trouble with.. maybe I somehow didn't convert the files properly or something silly like that. The 4 sound files are:

heartbeat1.wav
heartbeat2.wav
heartbeat3.wav
heartbeat4.wav

Here are the links on dropbox for you to download:

https: // www. dropbox.com/s/y8hfyfcd5c6oex5/heartbeat1.wav
https: // www. dropbox.com/s/2fcvgyxl5lt1321/heatbeat2.wav
https: // www. dropbox.com/s/4s8c290g5qo4ck1/heatbeat3.wav
https: // www. dropbox.com/s/2he8aoa5kh4eyc2/heatbeat4.wav
** NOTE: I had to put a space between the above web address to allow it to be posted on this message board.



Basically... I simply imported these 4 .wav files into construct 2. I'm using windows 7 and it looks like they properly converted in construct 2 to both file formats (ogg and m4a)... these sounds loop on firefox, and they also now loop on IE, but when I tried using it on android/amazon they don't loop -- or if they do, the sound is sooooooooooooo faint you have to put your ear to the speaker... they similarly don't loop on firefox when using the ubuntu operating systems.

Thanks in advance. :)

If I at least know the .wav files are correct, that is one less thing for me to try and troubleshoot.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:33 am

I made another game with a different sound file and tried to loop it and the same EXACT thing happened.. the sound does NOT loop in Internet Explorer.

Personally... I have a hunch this is a BUG in the program.. I was going to post this on the bug message board, but since I'm such a novice, I'm thinking perhaps I missed something? However, I suspect not.. I don't think the looping sound function works in IE... You are stuck telling Construct to merely play the sound every couple of seconds to get the looping effect. Bummer.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:51 am

Here is a test using your sounds. Appears to work ok ?

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/143636437/examples%20for%20web/sound%20test.capx latest beta (164.2) and 637KB!
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jezjones24 and 25 guests