How do I Get Text To Work

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:09 pm

So ive been trying to get a basic score system working and while in the debug menu it keeps track of the score no problem. I cant get any kindof text to show up on the screen. I dont know what im doing wrong but after 2 days of searching the internet and following tutorials with none of them working i decided to make this post.
I am using the steam version of construct 2 if that makes any difference at all.

Ive even downloaded other people's project that should have text working but when i go to test no text shows up for them at all making me believe its something on my end and not the program but i havent been able to find anything about this happening..
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 183

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:51 pm

So what happens when you create a new project, add a text object to the layout where you can see it and then run it?
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:58 pm

Nothing shows up at all just a blank screen.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 183

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:05 pm

Are you using internet explorer? First try using another browser.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:06 pm

Ive tried IE, Firefox, Chrome, and Opera
None of them work.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 183

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:49 pm

None of them work at all for testing, or specifically for the text? I would assume text from your comment about testing other peoples' work... Sorry, I haven't heard of that happening, either.
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 79
Reputation: 842

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 7:54 pm

did you try exporting to html5 and running it from a server as webpage instead of the live-preview (maybe that one is somehow bugged for you). Haven't heard of the problem before either. You could probably open a bug report in the bug section, maybe ashley can help.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:23 pm

Can you share an example of capx that doesn't work with you?
Image Image
B
23
S
13
G
135
Posts: 871
Reputation: 70,345

Post » Wed Jul 15, 2015 9:36 pm

I decided to export it and test it on my phone and that seems to work. I tried it as a webpage after exporting and i still had the same problem so currently the only way i can test to see if text works is to get it to run on my phone which is a bit of an annoyance but at least i can get somewhere now.

@MadSpy any of the example projects that come with construct 2 that have text already in them. For example the Ghost Shooter Rain Demo should have text when playing but it doesnt show up in any browser that i use.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 183


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Matei511 and 61 guests