How do I get WebStorage

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:03 am

I have build 212.2 which is upgraded from the one I had previously, yet, I can't find the webStorage.

According to all the tutorials and such I see online, it shows that WebStorage should be located next to LocalStorage, butI don't see it.
Am I missing something?
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 221

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:07 am

WebStorage has been deprecated in favor of LocalStorage and can no longer be added to new projects. All new projects should use the LocalStorage plugin.
Moderator
B
113
S
41
G
20
Posts: 1,586
Reputation: 19,106

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:16 am

Message: fingaz1 is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
Hmm, then that makes doing this tutorial a bit difficult, i'm not sure if i'm using the script correctly then.
Guess i'll have to try it out see if i can figure it out. I'm on the last part of this tutorial:But he is using webstorage, anyone know a workaround to this using local or should I hunt through the tutorials instead?
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 221

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:17 am

looks like i can't post urls :/
well the tutorial name is Construct 2 Trivia App Part 4 (Final Features)
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 221

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:38 pm

I looked at the tutorial, and it should be fairly simple to adapt to LocalStorage. If you look at the manual entry for LocalStorage, they suggest using a dictionary -- where you can also set/get values with keys -- to create a system similar to WebStorage. That manual entry also gives basic instructions on how to use LocalStorage, so I definitely suggest checking it out.
Moderator
B
113
S
41
G
20
Posts: 1,586
Reputation: 19,106

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 3:07 pm

Thanks for the assist Linkman, I used the dictionary and it seemed to work well.

Now my last two tasks are:
1. Send the results of the quiz (the score) to an outside source such as an email address, or maybe a database (which ever is possible and easier)

2. Make it so the questions do not repeat themselves.
I've been looking through the tutorials and forum posts, problem is I see tutorials on how to create random numbers with no duplicates, but with my project I'll be generating questions from a text file. So the things i've tried haven't worked.

I was thinking I could add an entry in the dictionary perhaps to mark a question as being asked, but I don't know how well that will work if I have like 50+ questions.

Any suggestions on either of these?
B
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 221

Post » Sat Sep 26, 2015 3:35 pm

all you do I think is click right mouse button is insert objects. This should bring up all other which are not shown
B
245
S
37
G
15
Posts: 1,940
Reputation: 40,094

Post » Tue May 17, 2016 9:20 pm

@fingaz1 Can you share the modified capx after using the localstorage instead of webstorage? Or maybe, give some details on how you changed it. Thanks in advance!
B
8
S
2
Posts: 13
Reputation: 668


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests