How Do I Hack Mass Particle Simulation

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:00 pm

If it runs and nothing is animated then my only guess is webgl isn't being used. Do other effects work for you?
If not then your graphics card is probably blacklisted on your browser and you'll need some solution without effects.
B
92
S
32
G
107
Posts: 5,280
Reputation: 69,971

Post » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:12 pm

is it possible that you can use this kind of approach? maybe with arrays?

http://w-shadow.com/blog/2009/09/29/fal ... imulation/
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
38
S
15
G
17
Posts: 949
Reputation: 12,320

Post » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:41 pm

@R0J0hound Thank You!!! It Was My Browser I Just Switched Browsers And It Works Now. XD Thank You So Much!!
B
21
S
9
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 2,055

Post » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:52 pm

@R0J0hound Why Does the "init" object or most of it not fall? Also Is There Any Way I Can Speed Up The Spread? EX. I Place A lot In One Spot It Makes A Tower At The Floor. And It Slowly Spreads. Any Way To Speed It Up? Also Is There Any Way To change the effect when its droping with the outline or following or something when its droping? I'm sorry if I'm asking for to much.
B
21
S
9
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 2,055

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 1:43 am

Seems to work fine for me (all of the red falls - and seems to splash!)... Awesome job ROJOjound! : )

I was getting a solid 60 frames a second, although the sand still seemed to fall at about half the speed that gravity would normally make it drop. Also, when sand was flowing over both sides of the white line sand was settling between the lines higher than outside the streams of falling sand - so that didn't look completely natural. But it certainly is a great start - especially since you couldn't see it run!
B
95
S
33
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,640

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 2:32 am

@tunepunk
This roughly follows that, except it jitters left and right instead of moving diagonally. Being done in a shader we can't actually move pixels. We can only change them. To do this it detects patterns and changes pixels.
Doing it with an array can also be done. It looks good but does not scale like the shader can.

Anyways it may be possible to do diagonal motion instead of horizontal.

@Thelegendvinny
White doesn't fall which explains why much of the init graphic doesn't fall.

Things move a pixel at a time so to make it spread faster pixels either need to move further every step or the effect needs to be applied multiple times. You can add a repeat condition to the second event to do the latter.

I don't understand the second question.

@allenr
To fall it spreads out vertically first, which makes it look to fall slow. I see no solution to this if done from an effect, and the web seems to lack examples to this except for one on shader toy. However I lost interest in analyzing how it works and mapping it to what we can do with effects in C2.
Also I found a way to test it. If I couldn't do that it would be broken in many ways.
B
92
S
32
G
107
Posts: 5,280
Reputation: 69,971

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 4:57 am

@R0J0hound is there any way to change the color/add color that Is Imoveable? And what I meant about the question you did not understand is like a "trail" type thing it's like in the game falling sands when you use the lsd object and use a physics object how it has a trail type thing on it. And I was wondering if there is a way you could remove that?
B
21
S
9
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 2,055

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 6:22 am

You can modify the effects to make a different color be immovable. To use any color for solid it would require more creativity with the effect to somehow encode color and whether it's sand or solid in each pixel.
There isn't a "trail" when I run it so I don't see what is to be removed.

Also if you search the forum for "falling sand" you should find some examples using an array.
B
92
S
32
G
107
Posts: 5,280
Reputation: 69,971

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:02 am

I Don't Quite See Where or How I Could Change it, maybe in the sanddrop.fx or?
B
21
S
9
G
1
Posts: 15
Reputation: 2,055

Post » Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:11 am

To just change the color used for solid replace the
vec4(1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0) with any other color.

The second idea to let multiple colors be solid is unsolved.
B
92
S
32
G
107
Posts: 5,280
Reputation: 69,971

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000, tarek2 and 24 guests