How do I improve my top down shooter controls?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:57 pm

I am making a top down shooter. I have made it so the character is always facing the mouse, and when you hove you move relative to the mouse. So you move towards and away from the mouse with w and s and orbit it with d and a. I used the "move forward" command to move forwards and back. However, to move left and right is a bit different. I made two objects to the left and right of the character with them both one pixel off center and with their origin as close to the character as possible. When a and d are pressed it sets position to the appropriate square. This works but presents a massive problem. You can move through walls sideways. The collisions I did weirdly too. I put on the 8-way movement behavior but turned off default controls. Just making the character solid wouldn't work. The problem is: when you walk into a vertical wall you slide up. I tried to make my game unique but it blew up in my face. Please help.

P.S.
I am using the free version of Construct 2. I miss out on a load of things that could be handy. That may change your answer.
B
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 189

Post » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:34 pm

Post your capx.
B
56
S
15
G
13
Posts: 826
Reputation: 17,705

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:07 pm

Tekniko wrote:Post your capx.

I used a blank template if that's what you're asking. (I don't really know the words for these things.)
B
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 189

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:15 pm

He means, it is very difficult help you without seeing what you have done, so you should post your project file so that we can take a look and see where your problem is.
Mistakes were made.
B
54
S
28
G
115
Posts: 1,705
Reputation: 65,083

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 5:22 pm

oosyrag wrote:He means, it is very difficult help you without seeing what you have done, so you should post your project file so that we can take a look and see where your problem is.

Yeah, I realised after. I googled it and couldn't find a straightforward answer. I'm not on my PC at the moment but I will do it as soon as I can.
B
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 189

Post » Thu Aug 04, 2016 7:07 pm

Don't worry. I have found a solution now. Everything is fine. Thanks.
B
3
Posts: 7
Reputation: 189


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests