How do I increase FPS / Increase Performance

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 1:06 am

@henriquesv Haha. Old in age. It works fine. But it is a few years old now.
B
40
S
11
G
4
Posts: 665
Reputation: 8,453

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 1:46 pm

@henriquesv
I see in your test capx you have quite a few txt boxes which act like counters and are constantly updating.
Try only updating these on a less frequent time. (Every 1 second) or if they are only for debug purposes try not updating and checking performance. I know when I was making my mobile App before the debug feature was out I used to have a few text boxes as counters and that used to hinder the performance with CJS on andorid alot.
B
38
S
11
G
1
Posts: 201
Reputation: 4,469

Post » Thu May 15, 2014 10:41 pm

OP, I found your capx to have a lot of small problems. There are a lot of good suggestions in the thread here that you should do.

C2 doesn't support more than 8/9 collision points. Squares only need 4.
Family up your events(ie no blue on touch, blue on red.. that's bad, bad bad bad bad. )
Your Evertick eats too much.

I've come to testing design for my personal computer. Create a test app. run the test app on your minimal target device. once you get the performance you want by adding features. note down the CPU usage on your computer for the exact same app.

As an example using my PC and iPodTouch4g.
My PC will have a CPU usage of 3% to maintain 55+fps. Any more than that will exponentially drop performance.

So your EveryTick often hits my computer with 5.8% here and there. While often fluctuating between 2.8 to 4%. So when it hits 5.8% it starts to cascade the performance.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 2:34 pm

Hi,
Did you find a solution for improving your CPU?
Thanks
M
B
5
Posts: 11
Reputation: 256

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:31 pm

Here, take a look at this:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kx0gdbuml25ii ... .capx?dl=0

Kind of strapped for time...basically, I'm setting this so sounds are called by the names of the two objects colliding. It trys both name combos (n1+n2, n2+n1), so as long as you have one sound for each collision (if that's really what you want to do) it'll work.

Also dialed back your physics accuracy and reduced collision points on your tokens. If you want a circular collision area, select that option under physics (properties - behaviors - physics - collision mask - circle)

You still have a lot of needless overhead and redundancy. Read about families. Apply that to your token moving groups...you only need one set of that logic, having a set for each token is redundant.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Mon Oct 27, 2014 5:40 pm

@henriquesv

Hi,

As for android Admob,

fix Admob SDK FPS issue: go to my AdMob account and disable text banners, leaving enabled only image banners. (provided by Cipriux)

Thanks
Construct2 Cordova Plugins (currently 87 plugins): https://www.scirra.com/store/construct2 ... ugins-1662

Construct2 Prototype Capx (currently 50 capx): https://www.scirra.com/store/games-with ... -capx-3088

Home page: http://cranberrygame.com
B
65
S
22
G
81
Posts: 780
Reputation: 46,631

Post » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:02 am

Thanks guys! I am a little late on this project! I will let you know!
B
24
S
4
G
1
Posts: 177
Reputation: 1,827

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jorgmaquoi, marc254, tarek2, Yahoo [Bot] and 27 guests