How do I Jump in platformer when there is something above?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 7:43 am

How do I jump in platformer(with solid) when there is another platformer (with solid) above ?

I have a Player with platformer behavior with solid behavior too and it can't jump with another Player with solid and platformer behavior above it? Does anyone have any ways to make a platformer-player jump and bring another platformer-player above with it?
Image



The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
55
S
17
G
90
Posts: 1,111
Reputation: 59,145

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:09 am

Can you be more precise ?

For what i understand, you want the playe 1 to push the player 2 when he is jumping on a platform and P2 is already on it.

If that's the case, add a physic behavious to both of the players and enable "Prevent rotation" in their properties
B
15
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,445

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 11:44 am

If that's the case, add a physic behavious to both of the players and enable "Prevent rotation" in their properties


I didn't totally understood the situation too but I don't think your answer will help him : if this guys adds a physic behavior on the characters, they will pass through the ground and every other platform because Physic engine and Platform behavior are not compatible. So your solution will certainly just create some problems (I suppose).

Now, author, as said by Oxy, we need to have more precisions. So, you have two sprites with platform behaviors. This behavior allow them to move around and collides with all the sprites which have a solid behavior. So, why do you add a solid behavior to the playable sprites themself ? They don't need it to move and collide. If your character can't jump when another character is above him, it's because this famous character above has a solid behavior (so it's like a platform, so yup, you can't pass through it with your player).
B
15
S
4
Posts: 86
Reputation: 1,490

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:25 pm

I am sorry @OnyOxis & @LeuNoeleeste for not being precise but I cannot use physics for that because it will cause more problems and it wont work with this type of game and performance is also at risk.

My point is that I want to make a simple event that if the Player2 (w/ Platform and solid behavior) is on top of Player1 (w/ Platform and solid behavior) then the Player 2 will be pushed up when Player 1 jumps.

I want to make that event without the use of Pin behaviors, Custom Movement and Simulate controls for it will make things complicated. In other words, I am looking for an event that maybe I missed that can make this happen noncomplicatedly. Thanks
Image



The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
55
S
17
G
90
Posts: 1,111
Reputation: 59,145

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:58 pm

So, just add the physic behaviour AND the platform behaviours to the players, and the solid AND physic behaviours to the platform.

I will work on it and see what i can do ;)
B
15
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,445

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:10 pm

OnyOxis wrote:So, just add the physic behaviour AND the platform behaviours to the players, and the solid AND physic behaviours to the platform.

I will work on it and see what i can do ;)


Regarding the mixing of physics and other behaviors, the manual entry for the physics beavior has this to say:

Using Physics in Construct 2

The Physics behavior simulates physics separately to the Construct 2 layout. Construct 2 will try to keep the Physics and Construct 2 "worlds" synchronised if one changes but not the other, but this can be unpredictable. For example, setting an object's position or angle will cause Construct 2 to teleport the corresponding object in the physics simulation to the object's new position, which does not always properly take in to account collisions. The same is true of using other Construct 2 behaviors at the same time as Physics.

Therefore it is highly recommended to control Physics objects entirely via the Physics behavior (by setting forces, impulses, torques etc.), rather than trying to manipulate objects by Set position, Set angle etc.

Another consequence is Physics won't respond to objects with the Solid or Jumpthru behaviors. These behaviors are totally redundant when using Physics and have no effect. Instead, use the Immovable property.


In other words, mixing behaviors with the physics behavior can - and usually does - introduce unusual and unwelcome glitches.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
130
S
29
G
80
Posts: 5,289
Reputation: 56,010

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:10 pm

So, just add the physic behaviour AND the platform behaviours to the players, and the solid AND physic behaviours to the platform
.

Not. Compatible. You will just end up with chaos and tears :)
B
15
S
4
Posts: 86
Reputation: 1,490

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:16 pm

Message: OnyOxis can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
LeuNoeleeste wrote:
So, just add the physic behaviour AND the platform behaviours to the players, and the solid AND physic behaviours to the platform
.

Not. Compatible. You will just end up with chaos and tears :)


That's true :D



Try this one :
http://download1587.mediafire.com/kxwb9ebmz53g/42i4vvevpwegq6q/Player_Push.capx
B
15
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,445

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:02 pm

@OnyOxis

You might want to update the version of C2 you are using - r208 is over 6 months old and there have been many changes since.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
130
S
29
G
80
Posts: 5,289
Reputation: 56,010

Post » Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:05 pm

Message: OnyOxis can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
I have a working version, Player 2 can be pushed by Player 1 :

http://download1337.mediafire.com/ravtpc4ezwxg/2vyic0fgtqtd9do/Player_Push.capx ;)

zenox98 wrote:@OnyOxis

You might want to update the version of C2 you are using - r208 is over 6 months old and there have been many changes since.


I know, i changed my computer and lost the last version :lol:
B
15
S
3
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,445

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Neiroe and 9 guests