How do I keep my sprite from re-sizing itself?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:31 am

I have a single sprite in my program that keeps spawning into the layout at a consistent size. It doesn't seem to be registering any size or scaling change I make to it when the layout runs. I can't recreate this problem with any of the other sprites and I don't have a clue as to what is causing this or why.
Help please!
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 301

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 1:35 am

Capx?
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:05 am

https://www.dropbox.com/s/w4m4gwbo1aip5ak/Bubble_Gum.caproj
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 301

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:05 am

B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 301

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:33 am

no, no capx, not caproj.

Though, I'm still on r158, not r158.2, so I wouldn't be able to open it. Anyone with r158.2 could though.

Actually, you could just upload your project folder, that would work for me. That's the folder that contains your .caproj file.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:40 am

Ok, sorry man, never uploaded a capx or caproj to someone before. it's the "Boom Boom" Sprite by the way. Sorry. haha here's the full project files
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7udwn3ujdi5ua8f/NbgdobdZC6
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 301

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:31 am

Please do a "Save as Single File" instead of sharing the caproj folder.


A CAPROJ
is all teh files in folders for easy access.

A CAPX
is all the files in a compressed ZIP file for easy moving around.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,018

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:59 am

Thanks Jayderyu, I've got it all set now, he's the link for the capx. Done as instructed

Thanks for working with me here guys
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hztfd4v4oifgv7h/BubbleGum%20Blast.capx
B
5
Posts: 8
Reputation: 301

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:07 am

I tried to look at your capx, but I can't tell what is actually meant to happen...

The 'BoomBoomb' sprite is already there, and it's massive. When you click, it spawns in smaller...

What's meant to be happening?
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
79
S
12
G
7
Posts: 963
Reputation: 10,721

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:33 am

I didn't see anywhere that you were adjusting the size of boom_boom. You were setting the scale, but scale is non relative: if you keep setting the scale to the 0.5 every tick, that's not going to halve the size of the object; it'll just set it to half the size once.

Also, you had a trigger combined with 'once every 0.01 seconds'; in this case, you need neither. Replaced it with a simple 'every tick'.

I added the fade behavior to boom-boom. Deleted 'on created: wait x secs then destroy'. Fade has a built in 'destroy' command that runs when it's done fading. Great for explosions.

The boom-boom sprite was spawning way too big. Set it to spawn at 40,40 size.

Also, you were sending your walls/block off at random angles. No. Take a look at the modified events 7 and 9 on the Bubble_gum_bomb sheet. Neat trick: if you remove the 'random(170,190)' part, the walls/blocks will suck INTO the explosion.

I also did something else I don't remember. Keep an eye out for it.

I tweaked some of your settings -- timescale, etc -- to make my example clearer. Here's the capx:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/07gfp00e4n3t9n0/BubbleGum_ExplosionFadeMod.capx

Finally, you need more boo...erm bobs. WAY more bobs. We should be mowing down these insidious little malcontents by the bucketful. physics enabled bobs?


Cheers,T

P.S.: I simply cannot resist:

. . .

DOLE KNOWS!!!
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fradno and 16 guests