How do I load a custom HUD to the Construct 2 Layout?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:54 pm

I wanna load some artwork for the HUD. So 3 questions:

1. How do you load it onto the Layout?
2. What code would you use to make it add or subtract hp and fp (fp = flower points)
3. How do you make it static so that everywhere the player goes it's not moving with the player...it just stays in the top left part of the screen?

I have artwork for the HUD done, and I'm also using artwork for the font as well. To give you an idea of what I want (Look at the first photo):
http://www.ign.com/articles/2007/09/18/super-paper-mario-au-review
B
10
S
2
Posts: 11
Reputation: 572

Post » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:31 am

BETTER HUDS! by Jerementor
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1BZHu6Nwd8

To summarize, it involves placing your HUD items in a separate global layer and calling it into your other layouts.
B
67
S
37
G
111
Posts: 118
Reputation: 61,005

Post » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:08 am

In addition to Lancifer's very correct suggestion make sure that you correctly set your window / layout sizes, so that your global HUD layout will correctly appear during your game.

Also remember that the HUD layout will OVERWRITE any layout with the same name, so make sure to use a unique name for it such as HUD and make sure you do not use that name in any other layout.
Thank you to Construct 2 for giving me the ability to create games without programming knowledge.
My games & gaming portal = DolyGames
If anyone wants to cooperate to help each other Win-Win please email me - I am always happy to discover new opportunities.
Cheers,
COSMOS
B
21
S
11
G
1
Posts: 94
Reputation: 2,468


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: blackhornet, dop2000, Lancifer and 28 guests