How Do I Make A Ladder That Is Bug Free?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:44 am

Whats up peeps!

I have been gone for awhile so i have alot of questions.How do i make a ladder that does not have any bumpers like the ones in how do i links.Also I do not want the player to pass through solid blocks at all.I just need a bug free legit ladder. Every One of the tutorials on how do i links all have glitchs where you pass through solids.I need a bug free ladder because the player will be able to place them freely .If someone can help me with this it would be awesome
B
9
S
5
Posts: 126
Reputation: 1,295

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:24 pm

Here's a quick example using the platformer template. It's based on adjusting fall speed and setting Y vectors accordingly. You might need to tweak the collision polygon based on your preferences, but it's bug-free as far as I can tell.GeometriX2013-06-23 12:24:19
B
57
S
15
G
11
Posts: 912
Reputation: 12,581

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:29 pm

Cool Beans @GeometriX i will take a look at it.If it is bug free you should have @Kyatric put it in the How Do I most asked. Thanks geometrix I had another question but I posted it in rookies topic. I wont place it here. Good looking out for this reply, You should be a Moderator you and @Nimtrix
B
9
S
5
Posts: 126
Reputation: 1,295

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 12:51 pm

@GeometriX this is the best ladder code I have seen on the website! No errors at all!
This needs to be linked over. Its to good not to be and its up to date.Great work
B
9
S
5
Posts: 126
Reputation: 1,295

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:01 pm

My pleasure. It is actually bugged, though. If you hold in the down arrow while still on a platform, and then step onto the ladder, it just drops you straight down at fall speed instead of the ladder "catching" the player.

I'd fix it but I think it'd require some fiddling, which I'm just not in the mood for :P
B
57
S
15
G
11
Posts: 912
Reputation: 12,581

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:31 pm

No @GeometriX this is exactly what I need. I want the player to have to catch himself instead of it getting done automatically. It will make things harder for the player which is a good thing. Plus you have basically made the whole ladder it wouldn't be hard for the next person to see how you built it and add that function themselves. Thanks again holmes you are a saint
B
9
S
5
Posts: 126
Reputation: 1,295

Post » Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:52 am

Glad to find this thread... great example!
I was looking at trying to toggle platform behavior on and off for ladders. Not sure which method is really better.
B
6
S
2
G
2
Posts: 4
Reputation: 1,522

Post » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:32 pm

thank you much! you helped me a lot :) feeling in the mood to give us the solution to that little "bug" with the drop down next to ladder thingie?
B
15
S
6
G
4
Posts: 277
Reputation: 3,948


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RetroSpock, senna68, WhosWho and 9 guests