How do i make a maze like this?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:51 pm

Hi, it is possible to make a game like this????
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKdBs7Pc1JE

My question is how to make the maze where the player , how that kind of maze is made????
B
37
S
15
G
7
Posts: 1,682
Reputation: 9,616

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:06 pm

The question usually isn't is it possible to make a game like that, but can YOU make a game like that..

It is completely possible, there doesn't seem to be any real 3d, just an isometric fake 3d, which could be done with sprites..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:07 pm

but maybe that means i have to make a lot of backgrounds for each movement???
B
37
S
15
G
7
Posts: 1,682
Reputation: 9,616

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:12 pm

No, what you should do, like you see in this game is use a lot of repetition..
you could probably make the maze window from 5 sprites, ceiling, floor, left, right, and center, these could be used over and over to create different looking maze positions..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:13 pm

i dotn see how to make that :s yo umean make just 5 sprites with a different zoom?
B
37
S
15
G
7
Posts: 1,682
Reputation: 9,616

Post » Tue Oct 07, 2014 5:56 pm

i started the graphics, advancing fast, but i still need to understand how the mazes are made
http://s18.postimg.org/k0q0rmipz/HUD.jpg
B
37
S
15
G
7
Posts: 1,682
Reputation: 9,616

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2014 7:43 am

This is an interesting question. And I'm still trying to forget old games like this. (Wizardry and early Ultima dungeons and early Might and Magic.)

Essentially you need to throw up some kind of sprites that cover the floor, ceiling, left and right walls, and the back wall, and then change it every time you move. You need arrays to determine what to display at each point. Whew!

I don't think Construct 2 is going to do this easily. But you could dig around on eBay or other places and find books on how to modify (mod) Doom and other early 3-D games that would give you the same effects.

Books like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Focus-Programming-Quake-Arena-Development/dp/193184156X/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412753776&sr=1-3&keywords=game+programming+mods

http://www.amazon.com/Black-Halo-Mods-Stephen-Cawood/dp/0672328046/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412753752&sr=1-6&keywords=game+programming+mods

http://www.amazon.com/Half-Life-2-Mods-Dummies/dp/0470096314/ref=sr_1_7?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1412753752&sr=1-7&keywords=game+programming+mods

Essentially you want to take a game engine for 3D games that someone else has created and modify the artwork and behaviors. There's a huge community of people who do this, but I don't know anything about them.
Proud Construct 3 subscriber.
B
21
S
5
G
5
Posts: 207
Reputation: 4,643

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:11 am

it has to be a better, easy way :p :s
B
37
S
15
G
7
Posts: 1,682
Reputation: 9,616

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:06 pm

you could do it with 3D PLUGIN Object 3d by JOE7

viewtopic.php?t=67329&start=0
B
252
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,965
Reputation: 40,765

Post » Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:26 pm

You can talk to @Yann and ask for some help/advice http://www.scirra.com/arcade/addicting-rotary-games/483/cubemaze
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
66
G
42
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 35,343


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Armench, brunopalermo, dand, TRMG and 28 guests