How do I make a .png map of the game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:14 pm

Is there any way to export the way a layout looks into a png or jpg file? I need this because I need to create a map of the whole game by melding all the layouts together, and see if there are any overlaps, as well as it's convenient by itself.
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:36 pm

@fassFlash

Look at the System->Snapshot Canvas action and using the CanvasSnapshot expression with the Browser object to open the image in a new tab and then save the image.
Vote for all the Construct 2 games on Steam Greenlight - Find them here
B
32
S
9
G
7
Posts: 444
Reputation: 6,731

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:50 am

OddConfection wrote:@fassFlash

Look at the System->Snapshot Canvas action and using the CanvasSnapshot expression with the Browser object to open the image in a new tab and then save the image.

Ok thanks, will try out later today.
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 2:11 pm

OddConfection wrote:@fassFlash

Look at the System->Snapshot Canvas action and using the CanvasSnapshot expression with the Browser object to open the image in a new tab and then save the image.


Wait, that doesn't actually work right. What I want to do is not make a screenshot, but make a screenshot of the whole layout, even the parts you don't see in the window, like a map. Example: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pnt6f5k0sd2ez ... e.png?dl=0
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 4:26 pm

@fassFlash

You could add in some events to move the camera around and take screenshots until you have screenshots of each part of the entire layout and then stitch those screenshots together to make a map of the entire level at the highest quality.

I suppose you could do that manually within the editor as well.

Otherwise, I don't know of any way to get an image of the entire layout at full resolution.
Vote for all the Construct 2 games on Steam Greenlight - Find them here
B
32
S
9
G
7
Posts: 444
Reputation: 6,731

Post » Tue Aug 26, 2014 6:53 pm

OddConfection wrote:@fassFlash

You could add in some events to move the camera around and take screenshots until you have screenshots of each part of the entire layout and then stitch those screenshots together to make a map of the entire level at the highest quality.

I suppose you could do that manually within the editor as well.

Otherwise, I don't know of any way to get an image of the entire layout at full resolution.

Oh god D: But most of the maps are 1792, 1400; and the hub area is 5000, 5000! Now, suddenly, my game seems VERY big. Help me pleeeaaase, someone
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:09 pm

@Ashley ?
HARMLESS SIGNATURE THAT IS VIEWED BY OTHERS AS OFFENSIVE AND CONTROVERSIAL
B
14
S
3
G
3
Posts: 356
Reputation: 4,377

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:53 pm

Did you try scrolling around taking snapshots like @OddConfection suggested?
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
88
Posts: 24,251
Reputation: 192,454

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 5:37 pm

Not that it helps right now, but Tiled Map Editor does screenshots of the entire map.
Useful if you use tile maps.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,236
Reputation: 105,591

Post » Wed Aug 27, 2014 7:02 pm

If you look down a few threads, I made a thread about node webkit and transparent backgrounds. Inside I posted a picture (the one of the event sheet) of capturing the entire layout into a mini-map. Maybe it will help.
B
72
S
29
G
35
Posts: 340
Reputation: 22,721

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: armen1997, Syazanie Amirin and 11 guests