How do I make a quality selection in a game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:34 pm

How do I make a Low Quality, Medium Quality and High Quality option in a game? It is to enable support for non-HD Phones on GooglePlay. If it is possible, will it have significant improvement in games? My Game has a window scale of 16:9 (1280px720p) and I want to reduce the quality or scale size for performance for lower specs phones.

Thanks XD in advance.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
66
S
22
G
90
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 60,011

Post » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:58 pm

If you added such an option to your game, it'd be up to you to change what it does. Graphically I guess you could make less particles be used, or less objects on screen. Another would be to disable effects.
B
94
S
33
G
117
Posts: 5,388
Reputation: 75,337

Post » Wed Feb 17, 2016 2:46 am

@R0J0hound - There are rarely particles in my game and no effects because I only use blends and few objects on screen. So there should be no problem there, Because my game is sized (1280x720) causes other phones problems because to adjust to the game scale size the sprites were also made bigger. Is there a way to reduce pixel of any game for example: Low quality (360p) Medium(480p) High Quality(720p - Original) ?
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
66
S
22
G
90
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 60,011

Post » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:22 am

You'd have to see what you could change with system actions. Maybe changing the view size might do that, but you'd probably have to change the zoom to compensate so things appear the same size to the player. The question is would that affect the performance at all.
B
94
S
33
G
117
Posts: 5,388
Reputation: 75,337

Post » Wed Feb 17, 2016 3:58 am

R0J0hound wrote:You'd have to see what you could change with system actions. Maybe changing the view size might do that, but you'd probably have to change the zoom to compensate so things appear the same size to the player. The question is would that affect the performance at all.


No, I don't think this will help the gaming performance and just make it complicated. I'll just leave it as it is for now. Since there is still no options for this. Thanks anyways XD.
The Things you can create is only limited by your imagination. If you don't have the skills then use your motivation as a natural force to exceed all expectations. Chadori RebornXD
B
66
S
22
G
90
Posts: 1,125
Reputation: 60,011


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: John Cutter, matriax and 8 guests