How do I make a sandstorm, or a blizzard?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:34 pm

Hey everyone! i have a top down game and i was wondering if there was an easy way to make a sandstorm or a blizzard that wouldn't be too resource hogging
i suppose an effect that sticks to the screen and doesn't scroll would be the best choice? i don't know.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 88
Reputation: 653

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:03 pm

AngelRave wrote:Hey everyone! i have a top down game and i was wondering if there was an easy way to make a sandstorm or a blizzard that wouldn't be too resource hogging
i suppose an effect that sticks to the screen and doesn't scroll would be the best choice? i don't know.


Ok had a bit of fun doing this, it might be too resource hungry, see what you think !

http://www.sizzle-games.com/sandstorm.capx
Bushy Ball\Boatman Bill\Sticky Web\Snake

Image ImageImageImage

During the gold rush it was a good time to be in the pick and shovel business
B
48
S
14
Posts: 256
Reputation: 5,440

Post » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:42 pm

Hi you can use Perlin noise and masking to accomplish this:

EDIT: here is one I came up with
http://voxi3d.comule.com/SandStorm/

uses no particles.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:54 am

I like that effect @jojoe - I'm going to go and try to replicate it...
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:24 pm

you might like my sandstorm demo
http://www.vtrixdev.com/scirra/sanddemo/
it has some controls for making the best look

created with frame animation, this can be right choice if you need more easy control of placement etc..,
i think its lighter to run then a shader..

probably can be made in a blizzard too, with the right colorisation and background..

productpage:
https://www.scirra.com/store/royalty-free-graphics/sandstorm-1282
ImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,177

Post » Wed Oct 21, 2015 2:19 pm

Thanks @RamPackWobble,

I use the perlin noise but you can use Simplex or whatever too. Perlin is just most like the natural shapes in nature.:
plugin-noisejs_t93998

You can do this for Free. It will cost you nothing.
@vtrix

Great looking package but no very suitable for phone use, you have almost 7 megs worth of perlin noise files, I am just rendering them in real time.

@AngelRave,

If you like my effect send me a PM, and I will hook you up. i have a bunch of other effects I will add too if you want them.

My effect uses no textures.The effect pack listed above in the store takes almost 7 megs worth of texture. My effect takes 2 8x8 sprite. and the entire file is 172k, less than one of the textures in the store version.

I can make some more effects too on demand, I made myself a template that is easy to change into other effects.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:38 pm

This is about as good as you will get as far as sandstorms go:
https://youtu.be/2HQaBWziYvY
Image ImageImage
B
172
S
50
G
184
Posts: 8,445
Reputation: 116,109

Post » Thu Oct 22, 2015 3:06 am

@jojoe
for clarification the effect itself (hd) is only around 1.4mb without exporting optimalisation. , the background is optional and exported is much smaller,

for phone use there is the sd version thats even smaller, the sounds etc.. are a bonus, i'm also just showing options here, and the endlook is quite different

like you said, you're rendering it real time, this means its an extra strain on gpu, where frame animations is very light but comes with extra size, .. but not 7mb :)
ImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,177

Post » Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:16 am

Speaking of GPU usage. Stacking alpha masked textures on top of each other and manipulating the opacity in real time also sucks up GPU and CPU power.

Mine keeps the exact same opacity, and is only 2 sprites stacked on top of each other.

I like how your can have the ability to spin the textures though. That adds a bit of realism that i can not achieve with my method.

I like your price too. It is very reasonable for such a nice effect. :)

Sorry for the filesize mixup @vtrix
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Sun Oct 25, 2015 9:16 am

Thanks everyone for the replies all of these are very useful.


jojoe wrote:Thanks @RamPackWobble,

I use the perlin noise but you can use Simplex or whatever too. Perlin is just most like the natural shapes in nature.:
plugin-noisejs_t93998

You can do this for Free. It will cost you nothing.
@vtrix

Great looking package but no very suitable for phone use, you have almost 7 megs worth of perlin noise files, I am just rendering them in real time.

@AngelRave,

If you like my effect send me a PM, and I will hook you up. i have a bunch of other effects I will add too if you want them.

My effect uses no textures.The effect pack listed above in the store takes almost 7 megs worth of texture. My effect takes 2 8x8 sprite. and the entire file is 172k, less than one of the textures in the store version.

I can make some more effects too on demand, I made myself a template that is easy to change into other effects.


These look great, Could the same be applied for a blizzard effect?
How do you even install plug ins?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 88
Reputation: 653


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brandons404 and 36 guests