How do I make a shoot em up up scroller?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 10:55 am

I want to know how to make a shoot em up where the screen continously scrolls upwards, and enemies that have a specific route (e.g) a group of planes that slowly glide towards a corner of the screen
B
6
Posts: 46
Reputation: 336

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:04 am

That's a very broad request... it's usually better if you have at least some aspect of your game done - than ask about specific things you can't get to function the way you want. Asking someone to explain how to make an entire game is like asking your mechanic for step by step instructions on how to diagnose and fix your car.

Nobody will help if you do that.

Have you made anything at all so far?

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
84
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,499

Post » Thu Jul 07, 2016 11:16 am

There are some tutorials you can look at
like https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/422/bu ... o-tutorial
this is a side scrolling, but it's exactly the same with top-down

  • System > On start of layout | system > load game from slot "brain"
  • System > On load failed | system > scroll to obj_Forum
B
17
S
8
G
5
Posts: 340
Reputation: 4,707

Post » Fri Jul 08, 2016 5:43 am

yeah. I've made the basic map. It's just the camera that doesnt move.
B
6
Posts: 46
Reputation: 336

Post » Fri Jul 08, 2016 9:23 am

Several ways to implement, depending on your exact project.
Check the different implementations available in the How do I FAQ section Scrolling / Camera.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
293
S
117
G
96
Posts: 7,310
Reputation: 71,069

Post » Sun Jul 10, 2016 6:55 am

i've managed to fix the camera but it turns out that the camera covers an area that is too small. is there any way to increase this?
B
6
Posts: 46
Reputation: 336

Post » Sun Jul 10, 2016 9:58 am

Changing your 'window size' property will allow your camera to see more. You can access this by clicking on your top level project file in the project window.

You should note that increasing the window size may also affect performance as the window size gets bigger (more for the system to draw/process at any one time).

You could also scale all your sprites down so more fit on the screen.
B
13
S
6
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,553

Post » Sun Jul 17, 2016 9:34 am

thanks/ i'll try it out.
B
6
Posts: 46
Reputation: 336


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests