How do I make a simple ragdoll game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:22 pm

I apologise if this sounded stupid. I'm new to Construct 2.
Can someone give me a detailed answer on how I can me a ragdoll simulator?
Last edited by ahadzeb on Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 193

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2015 8:37 pm

Have you seen the ragdoll example that is bult-in to C2?

Select 'File/New' and type ragdoll into the search box.

There are also numerous threads about ragdoll physics if you use the forum search.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,415
Reputation: 59,516

Post » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:57 pm

Found this ragdoll demo i made a couple of years ago, lurking on my hard drive.
Image
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22173473/ragdolldemo.capx

Works ok in NWjs preview mode

Hope this helps.
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 1,215
Reputation: 7,881

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:25 pm

Both answers were extremely helpful. However, I'm having some problems with the collision polymer. When I run the game, it says some collision marks are overlapping. I checked each mark on each sprite and they don't look like they're overlapping. What should I do?
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 193

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:04 pm

Hi ahadzeb

What is 'Collision polymer' ?

Not a term I am familiar with.

Chrisbrobs
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 1,215
Reputation: 7,881

Post » Fri Jun 12, 2015 11:12 pm

The option you get below the 'Image point' thing in the animation editor.
B
3
Posts: 6
Reputation: 193

Post » Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:18 am

I think the overlapping collision polygon points were on the sprites at the edges of the screen.
Try the following Spiderman ragdoll example. I added a touch option.
Touch longer for more speed.

Image

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/22173473/spiderman.capx

Hope this helps.

chrisbrobs
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 1,215
Reputation: 7,881

Post » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:03 am

@chrisbrobs

The version of C2 you are using - r18400 - is so old it is still referencing Node=Webkit as a preview browser, although that option changed to 'NW.js' a while ago.

You may want to update :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,415
Reputation: 59,516

Post » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:46 pm

@zenox98

'The version of C2 you are using - r18400 - is so old it is still referencing Node=Webkit as a preview browser, although that option changed to 'NW.js' a while ago.'

Your right, I'm still using r184. I downloaded and installed one of the recent stables, but the Frame rate on a lot of
my projects plunged and I couldnt get WegGL to work. I eventually reinstalled r184 to get everything working again. Is there a guide to manually installing NW.js and do I have to completely remove the older Node=Webkit version?

Cheers.
B
21
S
6
G
8
Posts: 1,215
Reputation: 7,881

Post » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:44 pm

@chrisbrobs

You just need to install C2, then download and install the separate NW from this url:

https://www.scirra.com/nwjs.

That's it.

RE: older version - that was part of the installation and installed itself within the C2 folder structure. The new NWjs just installs to a separate folder.

Benefits include much smaller C2 download size, as C2 is updated far more frequently than NW is updated. When NW is updated, just uninstall and install new version.

Anything else, feel free to ask.
Zen.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,415
Reputation: 59,516

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests