How do I make cutscenes?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:47 pm

How do I make cutscenes (Like the into in Airscape)? Because I want to add a storyline to my game.
B
29
S
7
G
3
Posts: 361
Reputation: 6,187

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:17 am

The same way you program your game.

What do you expect? Do you want construct to do everything for you?
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 413
Reputation: 2,512

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:20 am

You can either use events to control the movements of characters and the camera, or make the cutscene in a separate program, host it online, and stream it using the third-party Video plug-in (http://www.scirra.com/forum/plugin-video_topic46310_page1.html).

Those are the options as I see it, pick whichever one you feel most comfortable with. Of course, if you use the plugin, remember that you can't upload it to the Scirra Arcade!
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:20 am

Nah, but what certain events do that?
B
29
S
7
G
3
Posts: 361
Reputation: 6,187

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 12:37 am

[QUOTE=InvaderX] Nah, but what certain events do that?[/QUOTE] WHat?! THe events used to make a game, can also be used to make a cutscene.
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 413
Reputation: 2,512

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:24 am

Just get over it.
B
29
S
7
G
3
Posts: 361
Reputation: 6,187

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:41 am

@Urled - Come on, no need to be rude.

@InvaderX - What type of cutscene are you looking to make? Some are easier than others, but the majority are just controlled by the events in the same way that the game is made.

For example, if you have someone walking from left to right, you have the character set its animation to walking, have an event like

every tick - add 5 to characters current position (Current Position.X +5) This means that every tick, 5 will be added to its horizontal position. You can also have events that create an action if the character is at a certain place in the layout. If char.X is greater than 500, play sound effect.

These are all for in-game cutscenes. If you want to have a video playing, then you will usually need to produce these out of game.

Hope I was at least slightly useful.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 931
Reputation: 9,360

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:43 am

Thanks!
B
29
S
7
G
3
Posts: 361
Reputation: 6,187

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:20 am

And if you want, you can draw a GIF and import it directly to C2 and use it as a movie ^^
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
20
G
14
Posts: 1,218
Reputation: 19,500

Post » Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:01 am

That's pretty clever!
B
29
S
7
G
3
Posts: 361
Reputation: 6,187

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ETgirl79 and 17 guests